This forum is read-only. Please post new topics in our Q&A forum.

Hmmz... Nice this Midi Translator but...

General discussion about MIDI Translator

Moderators: florian, DvlsAdvct

Post Reply
lbsl
New User
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2005 8:04 pm

Hmmz... Nice this Midi Translator but...

Post by lbsl » Tue Jun 07, 2005 8:12 pm

What actually does it translate?

It makes some leds blink upon a tray icon and in the application, i can successfully route the messages from my MPU-401 attached Master keyboard to my internal midi mapper or internal wavetable synth, but it does not capture midi messages and neither does it send keystrokes to my applications.

So you still seem to have some work to do unless i did not understood something.

I've read the tutorial to get a tascam device working out... i find it amusing one require so many midi gadgets just to have some signals being send from device A to an application.

It's pretty hilarious that a simple program like the Midi translator cannot do this on it's own yet :P

Sorry, it probably works out for a lot of users, but not for me.
I've fooled around with that suggested "second renamed" copy of Midi Translator to see what that one can do for me but the second copy doesn't even respond to any midi messages.

I'll get back when this program can truely convert midi messages into output without requiring Midi Yoke and an extra instance of your application.

User avatar
florian
Bome Software: Founder
Posts: 2435
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2005 10:09 pm
Location: Munich, Germany
Contact:

Post by florian » Wed Jun 08, 2005 9:37 am

Sorry, you're not the only one who doesn't understand anything. I don't understand your message. This is a "bug reports" forum. If you have found a bug, please describe it.

It rather seems to me that you need technical help, and currently (as of version 1.31), Midi Translator's documentation is not complete (have you read the readme.txt file, at least?). If you have a specific question, there is the general discussion forum for Midi Translator which you can use to ask for help for a specific problem. But make sure to actually ask a question, instead of just saying "... does not work". Please describe what you're trying to do! I'm sure that you'll get adequate help.

Maybe, you wanted to suggest new features for Midi Translator. If you have ideas for future improvement, you can post such proposals in the Feature Requests forum.

Thank you,
Florian

lbsl
New User
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2005 8:04 pm

Post by lbsl » Wed Jun 08, 2005 3:24 pm

Yes, i figured out how to use MIDI yoke with it.
MIDI yoke eats up too much system resources to being able to even normally compose upon my system.
I don't use only MIDI devices.

But aside of that MT did not send keyboard commands either when i got it so far it could recognise the MIDI data.
I figured the source of bug, but it's not an MT problem.
The application i attempted to control uses DirectDraw to create windows and has it's own keyboard handler.
The app just ignores the keyboard commands completely.

You may want to post a list of applications that won't work with MT.
On of them is Renoise.

User avatar
florian
Bome Software: Founder
Posts: 2435
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2005 10:09 pm
Location: Munich, Germany
Contact:

Post by florian » Wed Jun 08, 2005 3:44 pm

OK, that makes sense. Indeed, Midi Translator cannot send keyboard events to some rare applications. I'll add this to the bug list.

We're working on a solution to make Midi Translator independent from Midi Yoke.

Thanks!
Florian

Post Reply