This forum is read-only. Please post new topics in our Q&A forum.

Add a background to a dialog Box

General discussion about using Restorator.

Moderator: florian

Locked
RBCC
Power User
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2009 4:37 am

Add a background to a dialog Box

Post by RBCC » Tue Feb 03, 2009 4:11 am

How do I add a background to a dialog box?? John :D

User avatar
florian
Bome Software: Founder
Posts: 2435
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2005 10:09 pm
Location: Munich, Germany
Contact:

Post by florian » Tue Feb 03, 2009 9:50 am

Hi, you may be able to do that, depending if the dialog box is visible in Restorator as a resource. Can you copy/paste the dialog code (e.g. in RC mode) here, and tell me what kind of background you'd like?

If it's a "Dialog" resource, you can also search MSDN for how to design such dialog resources.

Thanks,
Florian

RBCC
Power User
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2009 4:37 am

Where do I put in ""

Post by RBCC » Sun Feb 08, 2009 3:53 am

CONTROL "", 2003, "STATIC", SS_BITMAP | SS_CENTERIMAGE, 126, 26, 99, 64, WS_EX_TRANSPARENT

In the above line do I put the resource number in the ""? Or where the 2003 is ?John

User avatar
florian
Bome Software: Founder
Posts: 2435
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2005 10:09 pm
Location: Munich, Germany
Contact:

Post by florian » Wed Feb 18, 2009 8:58 pm

where your "" is you should put the number or the name of the BItmap resource that you want to display there.

Regards,
Florian

RBCC
Power User
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2009 4:37 am

what's to 2003?

Post by RBCC » Wed Jul 22, 2009 8:42 am

Whats the 2003 for?John

RBCC
Power User
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2009 4:37 am

Quotes

Post by RBCC » Wed Jul 22, 2009 8:44 am

with or without the quotes?

RBCC
Power User
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2009 4:37 am

IN Vista

Post by RBCC » Thu Jul 23, 2009 4:22 pm

this is in Vista? John

User avatar
florian
Bome Software: Founder
Posts: 2435
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2005 10:09 pm
Location: Munich, Germany
Contact:

Post by florian » Mon Jul 27, 2009 11:36 am

Hi,

all generic "CONTROL" statements follow this scheme:

Code: Select all

CONTROL text, id, class, style, x, y, width, height [, exstyle [, helpID]]
therefore, the 2003 above is the ID of the control. The ID is used by the program code to identify the control. If you add a control that is unknown by the program code, the ID is irrelevant. You should just try to use an ID that is not used elsewhere in that program.

Such resources will work with all Windows versions.

Regards,
Florian

RBCC
Power User
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2009 4:37 am

is the control

Post by RBCC » Mon Jul 27, 2009 2:37 pm

Is the control the picture for the background? if the picture is named 110 then the id is 110? John

User avatar
florian
Bome Software: Founder
Posts: 2435
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2005 10:09 pm
Location: Munich, Germany
Contact:

Post by florian » Mon Jul 27, 2009 10:41 pm

in that case, the "text" is the name of the Bitmap resource.

Regards
Florian

RBCC
Power User
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2009 4:37 am

Do I?

Post by RBCC » Tue Jul 28, 2009 1:27 am

Do I change the 2003 to 110? jOHN :D

RBCC
Power User
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2009 4:37 am

sHOULD IT LOOK LIKE?

Post by RBCC » Tue Jul 28, 2009 1:29 am

Should it look like:
CONTROL "110", 2003, "STATIC", SS_BITMAP | SS_CENTERIMAGE, 126, 26, 99, 64, WS_EX_TRANSPARENT?
John

RBCC
Power User
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2009 4:37 am

Could you please show the finished product

Post by RBCC » Tue Jul 28, 2009 2:29 am

Could you show the final accurate line for the above? John :D :mrgreen:

User avatar
florian
Bome Software: Founder
Posts: 2435
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2005 10:09 pm
Location: Munich, Germany
Contact:

Post by florian » Fri Jul 31, 2009 1:57 pm

I guess it should be this:
CONTROL 110, 2003, "STATIC", SS_BITMAP | SS_CENTERIMAGE, 126, 26, 99, 64, WS_EX_TRANSPARENT

only use quotes if not using a number.
Florian

Locked