This forum is read-only. Please post new topics in our Q&A forum.

Ableton Live Overdub&Autosave Looping method

General discussion about MIDI Translator

Moderators: florian, DvlsAdvct

Post Reply
akamed
User
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2013 2:51 pm

Ableton Live Overdub&Autosave Looping method

Post by akamed » Sun Feb 24, 2013 6:45 pm

With this work we´ll get 3 audio looping units.
Only the first Looper uses Live´s Looper, just to set the global speed (anyway you can overdub here)
The second and the third loopers get real overdub, alternating between 2 tracks to record in a "mix track" for having each loop recorded (as if it was scenes) on the hard disk.
I´ve done this because I wanted to use 3 loopers (or more) at the sametime, but I wanted to have each tracks´ loops saved automatically.
I know that the method could be simpler and more depurated, but that´s the way I find do it at this moment and it was hard for me to manage without more logical rules :)
When I can, I will try to define other functions as "Stop clip", "go and play previous clip", "Double clip for Stop (or Undo)", etc.
If you want, you can help me with that functions :)
I would be glad if somebody could try and help to improve it (and explain it) ...and let us know!
Thanks and sorry for my english!
....
Last edited by akamed on Sun Feb 24, 2013 9:28 pm, edited 1 time in total.

akamed
User
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2013 2:51 pm

Re: Ableton Live Looping method (for auto-record each loop)

Post by akamed » Sun Feb 24, 2013 6:49 pm

Ableton Live´s MIDI mapping...
Screenshot 1

Image

Screenshot 2
Image

akamed
User
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2013 2:51 pm

Re: Ableton Live Looping method (for auto-record each loop)

Post by akamed » Sun Feb 24, 2013 6:54 pm

Bome´s MIDI Translator

Image

On the first preset we define the variables when the preset is loaded. And as I needed something to reset the variables for debugging, I assigned BACKSPACE for reseting the variables also without reloading the project.

GA and GB are used for controlling the status of the clip (record, play...)
GM and GN are used for mapping the sequence of clips.
GS and GT are used for controlling the Stop Track buttons arm only when we end recoding.
GF and GG are used for controlling the Status of the Clip stop, so when a clip was recording and it´s pushed again to begin playing, the previous clip that was playing (at the same time the other was recording records) stops.

akamed
User
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2013 2:51 pm

Re: Ableton Live Looping method (for auto-record each loop)

Post by akamed » Sun Feb 24, 2013 6:55 pm

And the code is....

Preset 0: RESET

Translator 0.0: RESET at the LOAD of MT project
Options: stop=false
Incoming: on activation of this preset
Rules:
if gz==1 then exit rules, execute Outgoing Action
ga=0
gb=0
gm=0
gn=24
gs=119
gt=121
gf=0
gg=0
gz=1
Outgoing: (none)

Translator 0.1: RESET with BACKSPACE
Options: stop=false
Incoming: Keystroke: Backspace
Rules:
ga=0
gb=0
gm=0
gn=24
gs=119
gt=121
gf=0
gg=0
gz=1
Outgoing: (none)
_____________________________________________________________
Preset 1: CTRL TRACK2

Translator 1.0: Send select next clip, arm record, etc.
Options: stop=false, thru
Incoming: MIDI 99 67 pp
Rules:
if ga==0 then Goto "RECORD"
if ga==1 then Goto "PLAY"
if ga==2 then Goto "NEXT CLIP"
Label "RECORD"
ga=1
exit rules, execute Outgoing Action
Label "PLAY"
ga=2
exit rules, execute Outgoing Action
Label "NEXT CLIP"
gm=gm+1
if gf==4 then gf=2
Goto "Record"
Outgoing: MIDI 90 gm pp 80 gm pp

Translator 1.1: Rec/Play/Overdub loop
Options: stop=false
Incoming: MIDI 99 67 pp
Rules:
gf=gf+1
if gf<4 then exit rules, skip Outgoing Action
gf=4
exit rules, execute Outgoing Action
Outgoing: (none)

Translator 1.2: Send push stop
Options: stop=false, thru
Incoming: MIDI 99 67 pp
Rules:
if gf==4 then gs=gs+1
if gs==122 then gs=120
if gf<4 then exit rules, skip Outgoing Action
Outgoing: MIDI 90 gs pp 80 gs pp, delay:100millisec
_____________________________________________________________
Preset 2: CTRL TRACK3

Translator 2.0: Send select next clip, arm record, etc.
Options: stop=false, thru
Incoming: MIDI 99 69 pp
Rules:
if gb==0 then Goto "RECORD"
if gb==1 then Goto "PLAY"
if gb==2 then Goto "NEXT CLIP"
Label "RECORD"
gb=1
exit rules, execute Outgoing Action
Label "PLAY"
gb=2
exit rules, execute Outgoing Action
Label "NEXT CLIP"
gn=gn+1
if gg==4 then gg=2
Goto "Record"
Outgoing: MIDI 90 gn pp 80 gn pp

Translator 2.1: Rec/Play/Overdub loop
Options: stop=false
Incoming: MIDI 99 69 pp
Rules:
gg=gg+1
if gg<4 then exit rules, skip Outgoing Action
gg=4
exit rules, execute Outgoing Action
Outgoing: (none)

Translator 2.2: Send push stop
Options: stop=false, thru
Incoming: MIDI 99 69 pp
Rules:
if gg==4 then gt=gt+1
if gt==124 then gt=122
if gg<4 then exit rules, skip Outgoing Action
Outgoing: MIDI 90 gt pp 80 gt pp, delay:100millisec

DvlsAdvct
Bome Software: Partner
Posts: 1351
Joined: Fri May 09, 2008 5:07 pm

Re: Ableton Live Overdub&Autosave Looping method

Post by DvlsAdvct » Mon Feb 25, 2013 2:12 am

Thanks for the, akamed.

I've added it to our tips and tricks post.

akamed
User
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2013 2:51 pm

Re: Ableton Live Overdub&Autosave Looping method

Post by akamed » Tue Feb 26, 2013 12:32 am

Thanks DvlsAdvct!

akamed
User
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2013 2:51 pm

Re: Ableton Live Overdub&Autosave Looping method

Post by akamed » Wed Mar 06, 2013 2:16 am

Hi again, I´ve added UNDO and STOP functions for the tracks 1 & 2 in MT (2 and 3 in Ableton Live).
I´ve also changed the code, and the midi notes in Live.

I attach the preset for MT.



The new screenshot of the midi notes for the clips in Ableton Live:


Image
Attachments
Akamed´s Looping clips control 01.zip
MT preset
(2.28 KiB) Downloaded 394 times

famusvictim
Power User
Posts: 43
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2013 1:56 am
Contact:

Re: Ableton Live Overdub&Autosave Looping method

Post by famusvictim » Tue Apr 09, 2013 8:57 pm

Thank you very much for showing this method, Akamed!!!
The download and screen shots are very useful to a newbie like me - I'm a very visual and "hands on" learner, and this rocks!

I very much appreciate it.

akamed
User
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2013 2:51 pm

Re: Ableton Live Overdub&Autosave Looping method

Post by akamed » Fri Apr 26, 2013 5:48 pm

I´m glad to help famousvictim :)

I think that managing with Live´s screen is done BETTER if you toggle full screen (F11).

I´ll post the lastest version of the project now, but I changed the Live´s template. I have no internet this days so you have to look the code to know how it is configured.

Anyway, this days I trying with ClyphX and BMT in my new project and it works better.

Thanks!
Attachments
Akamed looping 168.bmtp
(36.99 KiB) Downloaded 289 times

User avatar
florian
Bome Software: Founder
Posts: 2435
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2005 10:09 pm
Location: Munich, Germany
Contact:

Re: Ableton Live Overdub&Autosave Looping method

Post by florian » Sat May 25, 2013 3:08 pm

akamed, good stuff, thanks for sharing!
Florian

akamed
User
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2013 2:51 pm

Re: Ableton Live Overdub&Autosave Looping method

Post by akamed » Tue May 28, 2013 10:12 pm

Thanks Florian :)
I hope someone could try this and tell us how it could be improved :)
The last version I uploaded has rec/play/od, undo, stop...

kurtr2
Power User
Posts: 44
Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2013 10:13 pm

Re: Ableton Live Overdub&Autosave Looping method

Post by kurtr2 » Thu Jun 20, 2013 10:17 pm

wow, that looks like alot of work you put in to this. is there a link to the ableton setup? or should i copy it out from the screen save? i feel a little guilty asking since it obviously took a long time for you to come up with this, but this is exactly what i'm looking for i am a newcomer to the midi translation world....

thanks,
Kurt

kurtr2
Power User
Posts: 44
Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2013 10:13 pm

Re: Ableton Live Overdub&Autosave Looping method

Post by kurtr2 » Thu Jun 20, 2013 10:20 pm

i also cant see the ableton screenshots clearly enough to duplicate the settings...

Post Reply