This forum is read-only. Please post new topics in our Q&A forum.

Sys ex to midiCC

General discussion about MIDI Translator

Moderators: florian, DvlsAdvct

Post Reply
sblurg
User
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Aug 06, 2005 12:00 am

Sys ex to midiCC

Post by sblurg » Sat Aug 06, 2005 12:27 am

Hi, I've just downloaded MT, want to use it with ableton's live, I have a PG1000 which is a programmer for the old Roland D50, 64 faders but in SysEX.
I'm trying to transform them in midiCC but it's not working.
I noticed when editing a translator that when capture MIDI is on there are 4 hexa numbers that change when moving a fader.

I did a simple sysex to midi cc 11 (B0 0B 00)
When assigning in Live, it recognized the cc#11, but it moves the assigned fader to zero. Like it's sending only one value, ie zero.
Am I doing something wrong or is it incompatibility ?

User avatar
florian
Bome Software: Founder
Posts: 2435
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2005 10:09 pm
Location: Munich, Germany
Contact:

Post by florian » Sun Aug 07, 2005 9:38 am

No, your described setting should work. Have you used variables? Can you send me a series of which sys ex from the PG1000 do you want to convert to which CC?

Florian

sblurg
User
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Aug 06, 2005 12:00 am

Post by sblurg » Sun Aug 07, 2005 6:46 pm

Hi Florian,

Of course the problem is the variables I hadn' t set.

so for instance one sysEX is
F0 41 00 14 12 00 01 25 00 5A F7 where the two rows before last, 00 5A change when moving the fader to a max value of 0F 48, I replaced them with oo pp

for the midiCC 11 if I set B0 0B oo , or B0 0B pp, in Live the fader only moves a little (from 0 to 1 with oo, and from 5 to 6 with pp -on a scale of 10)

If I set B0 0B qq I get an error message.

thanks for your help

User avatar
florian
Bome Software: Founder
Posts: 2435
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2005 10:09 pm
Location: Munich, Germany
Contact:

Post by florian » Mon Aug 08, 2005 11:48 am

yes, what you need is to combine these 2 variables into one. Currently, that's not possible with MT. A future version will allow simple mathematical transformations.

Florian

sblurg
User
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Aug 06, 2005 12:00 am

Post by sblurg » Mon Aug 08, 2005 12:08 pm

ah I see. I'll put my PG1000 back in the cupboard then,
thanks

rcjwedding
New User
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 1:58 pm

Mathematical functions In MIDI Translator

Post by rcjwedding » Mon Nov 14, 2005 2:41 pm

Hello Florian,

Thanks for your great program! MT has solved quite some MIDI problems for me. :D

I'm trying to control Nuendo using my Roland VM-C7200 mixing console and VE-7000 channel edit controller. Obviously I'm running into the same problem a previous Roland user had with the PG1000 controller: combine two variables into one.
florian wrote:yes, what you need is to combine these 2 variables into one. Currently, that's not possible with MT. A future version will allow simple mathematical transformations.

Florian
Do you have any idea when we can expect a version that will allow simple mathematical transformations?

Regards,

Richard

User avatar
florian
Bome Software: Founder
Posts: 2435
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2005 10:09 pm
Location: Munich, Germany
Contact:

Post by florian » Wed Nov 16, 2005 12:39 pm

Thanks for the nice words!

MT is a high priority for me, but MT currently does not provide me a living, so I need to dedicate some time for better paying projects, too.

Therefore it's hard for me to commit to specific release dates. I hope to release the current development status soon, which has many subtle improvements. Then I'll start implementing some major new features for a MT Pro (which will then also cost more).

I hope to have a first version of MT Pro ready by spring 2006.

Thanks!
Florian

rcjwedding
New User
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 1:58 pm

Post by rcjwedding » Wed Nov 16, 2005 1:36 pm

Hello Florian,

Thanks for your feedback.

I understand your concerns, since I have to earn a living as an IT professional myself. However, MT is the only serious MIDI application that allows for sysex message translation, and this gives it an enormous (functional -> market) potential. It only needs to be unleashed...

If you need some more input on this, I would be happy to exchange some insights and idea. :wink:

Keep up the good work!
Richard

User avatar
florian
Bome Software: Founder
Posts: 2435
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2005 10:09 pm
Location: Munich, Germany
Contact:

Post by florian » Wed Nov 16, 2005 2:48 pm

Sure, thanks! I'll contact you by email.

Florian

red firebird
New User
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2005 11:14 pm
Contact:

Post by red firebird » Tue Dec 13, 2005 11:31 pm

Hi,
I'm really new to Midi code editing and I have something I think is simpler. I want to control NI B4 from my Roland VK7 that sends its switches by SysEx. It should do it but I still have to find out how! Yet I have done a simple mapping but I have no midi in... it will come, I know it will ;-)

red firebird
New User
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2005 11:14 pm
Contact:

Post by red firebird » Wed Dec 14, 2005 12:03 am

Now it looks like I'm doing something, I added 2 rules for notes on and off, do I need to do that?
First I have this sysex: F0 41 10 00 08 12 02 00 10 3D 00 31 F7
that I want to translate to CC modulation at 128. Looks easy, but...

red firebird
New User
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2005 11:14 pm
Contact:

Post by red firebird » Wed Dec 14, 2005 12:19 am

Got it, now it looks like B4 doesn't take it...

User avatar
florian
Bome Software: Founder
Posts: 2435
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2005 10:09 pm
Location: Munich, Germany
Contact:

Post by florian » Wed Dec 14, 2005 1:18 pm

I'm not sure *what* exactly the B4 takes. If it cannot be controlled by MIDI messages, you may try to use the keystroke emulation for that?

Florian

sblurg
User
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Aug 06, 2005 12:00 am

Post by sblurg » Sat Nov 18, 2006 2:57 pm

florian wrote:yes, what you need is to combine these 2 variables into one. Currently, that's not possible with MT. A future version will allow simple mathematical transformations.

Florian
Hello Florian,
does your new pro version enable this now ?

User avatar
florian
Bome Software: Founder
Posts: 2435
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2005 10:09 pm
Location: Munich, Germany
Contact:

Post by florian » Sun Nov 19, 2006 10:48 pm

Hi,

yes, indeed the "Pro" beta version does provide "simple math", named "Rules". You'll find it as an extra tab in the "Edit Translator" window.

If in F0 41 00 14 12 00 01 25 oo pp F7, the oo value has the range 00...0F and the pp value fluctuates in the range 00...7F (in between changes of the pp position), then I guess, in order to convert this to a "normal" controller value, from 0 to 127 (or hexadecimal 00...7F), the following expression describes how to convert oo and pp to one qq controller value:

qq = (oo * 128) + pp

Now, with MT Pro's Rules, you can only do one expression at once, so enter 2 rules:
1. qq = oo * 128
2. qq = qq + pp

Now, as output, enter a controller message, e.g.

B0 0B qq

Hope that helps!
Florian

sblurg
User
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Aug 06, 2005 12:00 am

Post by sblurg » Mon Nov 20, 2006 10:32 am

hi Florian,
thanks so much for this explanation,
I'll dig my PG1000 out,
best
Sean

Post Reply