This forum is read-only. Please post new topics in our Q&A forum.

MIDI tranlator

General discussion about MIDI Translator

Moderators: florian, DvlsAdvct

Post Reply
jespino2

MIDI tranlator

Post by jespino2 » Wed May 11, 2005 5:31 pm

Simple question.
How can I use midi translator to translate a midi note to an qwerty letter and output this to a specific program so that I can type different letters to that program using my midi keyboard.

User avatar
florian
Bome Software: Founder
Posts: 2435
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2005 10:09 pm
Location: Munich, Germany
Contact:

I try to respond...

Post by florian » Wed May 11, 2005 10:46 pm

In general, the way to go is this:

1 Create a new Translator
2 Edit the Translator:
2.1 select MIDI as Incoming Action. You can use the capture function to show whatever iscoming in from MIDI (you need to have set up
2.2 Select Keystroke as Outgoing Action. Type in the key (sequence) that you want.[/list=][/list=]
2.3 Check "Stop Processing" (optional)

From then on, each time that the specific MIDI message is received, the key is "pressed".

Florian

bcondemi
New User
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Apr 23, 2006 4:58 pm

Post by bcondemi » Sun Apr 23, 2006 5:19 pm

Hi. kind of new to this but was able to create one complete translation including the midi incoming action, and keyboard out action.

I'm using a program called AtomixMP3 to mix music (dj software) and am using a Behringer bcd-2000 mixing console.

Atomix has keyboard shortcuts built in and I'm trying the midi translator to activate the keystrokes. I'm not getting any response however to the atomix program.

Is there something I could be missing? What should I check for.

thank-you

BC

User avatar
florian
Bome Software: Founder
Posts: 2435
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2005 10:09 pm
Location: Munich, Germany
Contact:

Post by florian » Mon Apr 24, 2006 9:09 am

There are a some programs which do not get Midi Translator's generated key strokes. (in particular when they use DirectInput for getting raw keyboard information). You may want to check with the Atomix guys why Midi Translator does not work with their software.

Independently, I'm working on a feature to have keystrokes recognized even by DirectInput programs (it'll take months, though).

Regards,
Florian

Post Reply