This forum is read-only. Please post new topics in our Q&A forum.

Using Led on knobs to display meter and volume status

General discussion about MIDI Translator

Moderators: florian, DvlsAdvct

Post Reply
drob
User
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue May 22, 2007 2:46 pm

Using Led on knobs to display meter and volume status

Post by drob » Fri Jun 01, 2007 6:03 pm

On a bcr2000 you have encoders (knobs) that shows Led when you move them. In Ableton Live 6, I have assigned one knob to control the volume of a track, but I also use Blue Cat Peak Meter VST on that track to show the movements of the volume signal (like a dj mixer). I have assigned the same bcr's CC# to both the volume control and the out meter(blue cat). That's fine except that when you move the knob to raise the volume Ableton assigns the value of the meter to the volume, which translates to sometimes volume jumps, which I want to avoid.

The VST has another button called bypass (can also be assigned a midi or key stroke). If bypass is on, the the VST is disable and it doesn't send midi info to the volume track. What I want to do is when I move up or down the knob, I want the bypass to be ON and as soon as I release it, OFF. This probably entails to have a seperate midi message for the bypass and the meter, but the bypass can't follow the same behavior as the meter or volume midi CC#.I've tried a few things, but my knowlledge with MT is very limited. I've scanned the forum for something similar and I didn'f find anything.

By the way I'm using MT Pro.

Thanks[[/b][/i][/u]

drob
User
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue May 22, 2007 2:46 pm

Post by drob » Sun Jun 03, 2007 10:21 pm

Can somebody please tell me if what I'm looking for is possible?

Thanks!

User avatar
florian
Bome Software: Founder
Posts: 2435
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2005 10:09 pm
Location: Munich, Germany
Contact:

Post by florian » Mon Jun 04, 2007 8:34 pm

Hi Drob,

if I understand correctly, you want to do the following (in technical terms):

- in normal mode, bypass is disabled
- when you change the volume, before the first volume CC message goes through, enable bypass
- then pass through the volume messages
- when finished changing the volume, disable bypass again

If this is what you want to do, I can only think of using MT Pro's timers for that (in pseudo code):

Code: Select all

on volume message:
  - if BypassFlag = 0 then 
         - set BypassFlag to 1
         - send message to enable bypass
  - activate or re-activate timer "Bypass", 300ms
  - send volume message

on timer "Bypass":
  - send message to disable bypass
Do you understand the principle?

In MT, use e.g. "ga" for the flag. Also, because you cannot specify multiple OUT actions per translator entry, create 3 translator entries, each having the volume message as incoming trigger. Each entry must have the "stop processing" flag disabled.

See this post where this technique is used:
http://www.bome.com/forums/viewtopic.php?p=3465#3465

Let us know if that works out...

Regards,
Florian

drob
User
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue May 22, 2007 2:46 pm

Post by drob » Tue Jun 05, 2007 1:08 am

Thanks for your reply.

I'm not familiar with all of this programming code. I'm trying to understand how it works, but It's not working for me.

I've loaded up the template your reference (note retrigger key repeat), but I get an error message when loading up:


Error while loading preset "Note Retrigger", Translator "note 1: pass through":
Outgoing Action corrupt or not supported: Tim0

Also there are three presets, which one is it note rettriger? If so, am I suppose to change the rules for the three presets. Maybe the fact that I want to use a key stroke (j) to activate on or off the "bypass" is causing me additional trouble?

Thanks for your time and looking forward to your response.

drob
User
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue May 22, 2007 2:46 pm

Post by drob » Tue Jun 05, 2007 5:29 am

Ok, I think I got it. The only problem is that the midi command sent by the VST is fraction of a second quicker than MT command to bypass, which results in volume jumps again, but less noticable. Here is my preset:
  • [Project]
    Version=1
    [Preset.0]
    Name=Note Retrigger
    Active=1
    Name0=note 1: pass through
    Incoming0=MID1B046oo
    Outgoing0=Tim0000Cnote 1 timer000103840064
    Options0=Actv01Stop00OutO00StMa00000001if(ga==0)ga=1
    Name1=note 1: (re)start timer
    Incoming1=MID1B046oo
    Outgoing1=MID1B01Fqq
    Options1=Actv01Stop00OutO00StMa00000001ga=0
    Name2=note 1: send Note Off
    Incoming2=Tim0TimT000Cnote 1 timer
    Outgoing2=MID1B01Fpp
    Options2=Actv01Stop00OutO00StMa00000001ga=1
    Name3=note 1: pass through
    Incoming3=MID1B046oo
    Outgoing3=MID1B046oo
    Options3=Actv01Stop00OutO00
    [Preset.1]
    Name=Key Repeat
    Active=0
    Name0=Note off to key H up
    Incoming0=MID190pp00
    Outgoing0=KAM12100KSQ10001048
    Options0=Actv01Stop01OutO00
    Name1=Note on to key H down
    Incoming1=MID190ppqq
    Outgoing1=KAM11100KSQ10001048
    Options1=Actv01Stop01OutO00
Is this what you had in mind or have I done something wrong.

Thanks

User avatar
florian
Bome Software: Founder
Posts: 2435
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2005 10:09 pm
Location: Munich, Germany
Contact:

Post by florian » Tue Jun 05, 2007 9:53 am

Hi,

OK, I can see how you want to do it. I've cleaned it a little bit:

Code: Select all

Translator 1: on CC: enable bypass
Options: stop=false
Incoming: MIDI B0 46 oo 
Rules: 
  if ga==1 then exit rules, skip Outgoing Action
Outgoing: MIDI B0 1F 7F 

Translator 2: on CC: (re)start timer
Options: stop=false
Incoming: MIDI B0 46 oo 
Outgoing: One-shot timer "Bypass Timer": 500 ms delay

Translator 3: on CC: pass through
Options: stop=false
Incoming: MIDI B0 46 oo 
Rules: 
  ga=1
Outgoing: MIDI B0 46 oo 

Translator 4: after CC: disable bypass
Options: stop=false
Incoming: On timer "note 1 timer"
Rules: 
  ga=1
Outgoing: MIDI B0 1F 00 
You can download it here:
http://www.bome.com/midi/translator/sol ... ingCC.bmtp

Btw, you used parameters pp and qq for sending the bypass command. Since pp and qq aren't referred to anywhere else, they are 00. Probably you need to use 7F and 00 or similar to enable /disable bypass.

Regards,
Florian

Post Reply