This forum is read-only. Please post new topics in our Q&A forum.

Using Bome Virtual Ports externally

General discussion about MIDI Translator

Moderators: florian, DvlsAdvct

Post Reply
User avatar
ibanman555
Power User
Posts: 185
Joined: Tue Nov 19, 2013 12:37 am
Location: Adirondacks, New York

Using Bome Virtual Ports externally

Post by ibanman555 » Wed Jan 04, 2017 3:18 pm

I am trying to do some troubleshooting and debugging of my serial devices and looking to use BMT virtual ports with Hairless MIDI-Serial http://projectgus.github.io/hairless-midiserial/. Upon trying to connect the ports I receive the error "Failed to open MIDI in port: RtMidiIn::openPort: error creating Windows MM Midi input port."

It appears that the Midi Out port will connect properly, but connecting the midi In port shows the error and data will not pass. Are these ports only to be used with Midi Translator or can they be used externally, as I am trying to do? Also, is there a solution for the error message I am seeing, or a specific way to connect these ports with BMT virtual ports?
"Great Minds discuss Ideas, Average Minds discuss Events, and Poor Minds discuss People"

DvlsAdvct
Bome Software: Partner
Posts: 1351
Joined: Fri May 09, 2008 5:07 pm

Re: Using Bome Virtual Ports externally

Post by DvlsAdvct » Thu Jan 05, 2017 3:54 pm

Hi ibanman

Been a while :)

MT Pro MIDI IN ports can ONLY be connected to MT Pro. If you need to troubleshoot and are on a PC I'd check MIDI Yoke for a free virtual option.

Jared

User avatar
ibanman555
Power User
Posts: 185
Joined: Tue Nov 19, 2013 12:37 am
Location: Adirondacks, New York

Re: Using Bome Virtual Ports externally

Post by ibanman555 » Thu Jan 05, 2017 4:13 pm

8) Cool! Thanks Jared
"Great Minds discuss Ideas, Average Minds discuss Events, and Poor Minds discuss People"

Post Reply