Page 1 of 1

Track Selection Follows Bank

Posted: Sat Apr 30, 2016 4:39 am
by turba1371
I am an new user of MT so go easy on me... Currently using Allen and Heath Zed R16 to control Pro Tools 12.4

Problem:
I have created next bank and prev bank buttons that activates and deactivates my presets (ch 1-8,ch 9-16...) but when I switch the bank I have no way of knowing what bank is currently in focus.

I am trying to get the bank selection to select the first track in the currently enabled bank so that I know what bank I am currently in.

Re: Track Selection Follows Bank

Posted: Mon May 02, 2016 1:09 pm
by ibanman555
When you enable a external controller in Pro Tools via HUI, the tracks in focus will be highlighted in color around the track name, under the faders.

Re: Track Selection Follows Bank

Posted: Mon May 02, 2016 9:51 pm
by turba1371
ibanman555 wrote:When you enable a external controller in Pro Tools via HUI, the tracks in focus will be highlighted in color around the track name, under the faders.
all 24 tracks are outlined by the color code based on the corresponding HUI, still no way to know what bank I'm on...

Re: Track Selection Follows Bank

Posted: Mon May 02, 2016 10:31 pm
by ibanman555
Here are 2 options for banking channels with HUI.... you can bank 8 channels at a time, or 1 channel at a time. Maybe that would be a better option. When you select your bank buttons, do the colored track names shift 8 channels? Sorry, just trying to get a better understanding of what the problem is.

Re: Track Selection Follows Bank

Posted: Mon May 02, 2016 10:35 pm
by turba1371
ibanman555 wrote:Here are 2 options for banking channels with HUI.... you can bank 8 channels at a time, or 1 channel at a time. Maybe that would be a better option. When you select your bank buttons, do the colored track names shift 8 channels? Sorry, just trying to get a better understanding of what the problem is.
Nothing shifts, all 24 channels have the color borders around the tracks hence the fact that I don't or what bank I'm currently in

Re: Track Selection Follows Bank

Posted: Mon May 02, 2016 10:55 pm
by ibanman555
Ok. Let's start from the beginning. You've connected your R16 to your computer, it should show a midi port in MT Pro. Are you seeing any midi ports that relate to your mixer?

Re: Track Selection Follows Bank

Posted: Tue May 03, 2016 12:26 am
by turba1371
ibanman555 wrote:Ok. Let's start from the beginning. You've connected your R16 to your computer, it should show a midi port in MT Pro. Are you seeing any midi ports that relate to your mixer?
I see the Mixer port, and I have 3 Virtual Ports in the output that I use.

Re: Track Selection Follows Bank

Posted: Tue May 03, 2016 12:48 am
by ibanman555
Ok. Could you please "Export Project as Text" under the File menu in MT Pro, and post the code here? Also, just to confirm, you are looking to bank channels using buttons on your R16? Which buttons are you using on the R16, and have you found out what midi messages they send to MT Pro when pressed? How have you set up HUI in the Peripherals menu in Pro Tools? Can you take a screen shot and post here (or a link to it)?

Thanks for giving details, it really helps us along!

Re: Track Selection Follows Bank

Posted: Tue May 03, 2016 11:08 am
by turba1371
ibanman555 wrote:Ok. Could you please "Export Project as Text" under the File menu in MT Pro, and post the code here? Also, just to confirm, you are looking to bank channels using buttons on your R16? Which buttons are you using on the R16, and have you found out what midi messages they send to MT Pro when pressed? How have you set up HUI in the Peripherals menu in Pro Tools? Can you take a screen shot and post here (or a link to it)?

Thanks for giving details, it really helps us along!
I got it, I ended up using a key stroke message to execute Physical Keys: (Command(Option(F)) 9 Return) to open the scroll to track window, type the corresponding track number to the bank I am switching to and then hit return.

I dont know how to find what the outgoing hex message should be for things, so this was the easiest way I could think of doing it...

Re: Track Selection Follows Bank

Posted: Tue May 03, 2016 11:25 am
by turba1371
Here is the text file and some screen shots of my setup

Re: Track Selection Follows Bank

Posted: Tue May 03, 2016 1:24 pm
by ibanman555
Very good. You seem to have a grasp on what you need to do, and at least you're getting communication to Pro Tools. I didn't know there was a key command for shifting tracks... handy key command!

Well, if you want to try these you can, they do the same thing basically:

Code: Select all

Bank 8 Channels

B0 0F 0A B0 2F 41 (Bank Left)
B0 0F 0A B0 2F 43 (Bank Right)

Bank 1 Channel

B0 0F 0A B0 2F 40 (Bank Left)
B0 0F 0A B0 2F 42 (Bank Right)
Just paste these messages in place of your keystroke message. You'd need a specific button and translator for each if you wanted to use them all. Hope this helps.

Re: Track Selection Follows Bank

Posted: Tue May 03, 2016 1:28 pm
by turba1371
how do you find the output code?

Re: Track Selection Follows Bank

Posted: Tue May 03, 2016 1:31 pm
by ibanman555
turba1371 wrote:how do you find the output code?
http://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=101328