Page 1 of 1

Sysex to Midi-CC Roland V-Synth

Posted: Wed Mar 11, 2015 9:25 am
by Rookie2
(see english below)

Hallo,
sorry, dass ich erst mal in Deutsch schreibe, aber ich fürchte, die Frage übersteigt meine Englischkenntnisse.
Aber da die Boardsprache ja Englisch ist, versuche ich es unten auch so ;-)

Ich bin neu in diesem Forum und habe mich angemeldet, weil ich beim Testen des Miditranslators auf Probleme gestossen bin, die ich mit Hilfe des (englischsprachigen) Forums und der Dokumentation leider nicht lösen kann.

Ich versuche, die Regler des V-Synth (geben nur Sysex aus) mit dem Tranlator in normale Midi-CCs zu wandeln, um damit in der DAW (Live 9) Softsynths zu steuern.

Die Wandlung funktioniert auch fast, nur der Reglbereich ist nach der Wandlung zu gering.
Ich gehe davon aus, dass Sysex eine höhere Auflösung hat, als die 128 Werte von MidiCC?!
Ist es möglich (nötig) mehrere Tranlator zu erstellen, die jeweils nur EINEN CC (aber mit unterschiedlichen Wertebereichen) ansprechen?
Oder gibt es vielleicht einen anderen (einfacheren) Weg? Bin für jede Hilfe dankbar.

Gruß Rookie


Hi,
sorry for posting in German, but I think my english isn't good enough for this technical question.
But Board-Laguage is English, so I try ;-)

I am new to this forum, testing MIDI-Translator, but having problems.

I try to convert the V-Synth encoders (sysex) to sysex for controlling Softsynths in Ableton Live.
So far it's ok, but the controlling Area is too small. Seem like Sysex has a bigger resolution as 128 Midisteps?!
Is it possible (necesarry) tu use more than one Translator mapped to ONE Midi-CC with different Values?
Or are there other possibilities to fix this problem?

Thanks for your help.
Rookie

Re: Sysex to Midi-CC Roland V-Synth

Posted: Wed Mar 11, 2015 2:56 pm
by DvlsAdvct
hi Rookie2

As far as Sysex goes, yes, it can have far more than 128 MIDI steps, depending on how the signal is structured. It can have almost infinite, if the string is long enough.

You can use more than one translator to control the same CC message, all with different values, but that can be very overwhelming. What we can also do is use Rules to control how the MIDI CC reacts to the sysex message. Before we get started, can you provide me with an example of the Sysex message you're using so I can give you an example?

Thanks
J

Re: Sysex to Midi-CC Roland V-Synth

Posted: Wed Mar 11, 2015 4:58 pm
by Rookie2
Hi J.

thanks for your quick response.

This is the sysex-string I like to convert:
F0 41 10 00 53 12 10 00 10 14 pp qq F7

for example in:
B0 22 pp

best regards,
Rookie2

Re: Sysex to Midi-CC Roland V-Synth

Posted: Wed Mar 11, 2015 6:12 pm
by DvlsAdvct
Can you do me a favor and take a screen shot of the log window so I can see how those two variables pp and qq in the Sysex message change when it is being turned counter clockwise?

Re: Sysex to Midi-CC Roland V-Synth

Posted: Thu Mar 12, 2015 4:49 pm
by Rookie2
Hi J.,
here are the sreenshots.

best,
Rookie

Re: Sysex to Midi-CC Roland V-Synth

Posted: Thu Mar 12, 2015 4:51 pm
by Rookie2
here the others:

Re: Sysex to Midi-CC Roland V-Synth

Posted: Fri Mar 13, 2015 2:12 pm
by DvlsAdvct
Perfect. Pretty much go with what you put down. It should look like this

Code: Select all

Translator 1: Sysex to CC
Incoming Message: F0 41 10 00 53 12 10 00 50 12 08 00 pp qq rr F7
Outgoing Message: B0 22 qq
I'm pretty sure that this should only track the third to last message, which seems to be following a standard count. Just keep in mind that when you get to the end it will reset back to 0, due to the way the messages send. We can try and work that out, but first let's make sure this works for you.

J

Re: Sysex to Midi-CC Roland V-Synth

Posted: Tue Mar 17, 2015 4:57 pm
by Rookie2
Hey J,

the sysexfile you gave me, worked well.
But obly maybe ten percent of the knob rotation,
before reset to zero.
How to expand the range, without loosing precision?

best, rookie

Re: Sysex to Midi-CC Roland V-Synth

Posted: Tue Mar 17, 2015 8:59 pm
by DvlsAdvct
Can you show me the Log Window by going to the View menu and selecting Log Window? Turn the knob slowly and take some screen shots, especially around where it resets to 0.

Thanks
J

Re: Sysex to Midi-CC Roland V-Synth

Posted: Thu Mar 19, 2015 6:13 pm
by Rookie2
reset.PNG
reset.PNG (68.02 KiB) Viewed 13693 times
Hi J,

when changing from two to three, the controller resets to zero.

rookie

Re: Sysex to Midi-CC Roland V-Synth

Posted: Thu Mar 19, 2015 6:48 pm
by DvlsAdvct
Well that makes things slightly more complicated. So it looks like the variable I was hoping to use only counts to 17 and then resets, while the variable before counts up and down every time it cycles. I'm having a hard time figuring out the pattern of the last variable, but I don't think it is very important. Figuring this out is going to require a bit more work, because we need to cross reference that first variable until it changes, and then cross reference the second variable until it changes, and cycle back and forth. I need some time to think about the math.

Re: Sysex to Midi-CC Roland V-Synth

Posted: Fri Mar 27, 2015 6:44 pm
by Rookie2
Hello J,
are there any news with the math?

Best, Rookie

Re: Sysex to Midi-CC Roland V-Synth

Posted: Thu Apr 02, 2015 12:26 am
by DvlsAdvct
You know what? Let's try this a different way. We have a standard method to turn relative knobs into absolute knobs, and we're gonna kind of use that here. We are going to cross reference the first variable and if it's the same then we cross reference the second. That's how we get our direction. It should look something like:

Code: Select all

Translator 1: Turn Left
Incoming Message: F0 41 10 00 53 12 10 00 10 oo pp qq F7
Rules: ga=oo-g1
g1=oo
if ga>=0 then exit rules, skip outgoing action
gb=pp-g2
g2=pp
if gb>=0 then exit rules, skip outgoing action
Outgoing Message: B0 22 63

Translator 2: Turn Right
Incoming Message: F0 41 10 00 53 12 10 00 10 oo pp qq F7
Rules: if ga<0 then exit rules, skip outgoing action
if gb<0 then exit rules, skip outgoing action
Outgoing Message: B0 22 65
That should create a relative signed bit message. I don't have anything around that sends sysex to test, so let me know if that works and we can fine tune from there.
Sorry for the delay
Jared

Re: Sysex to Midi-CC Roland V-Synth

Posted: Wed Apr 15, 2015 12:03 pm
by Rookie2
Sorry Jared,
i didn't bring it to work...
Where can I specify the rules?
The field for the incoming/outgoing midi accepts only one line of code.
Is there another place to paste your posted code?
Best, rookie

Re: Sysex to Midi-CC Roland V-Synth

Posted: Fri Apr 17, 2015 6:01 pm
by Rookie2
Ok, i got it.
Try your answer now in the trial-pro-version...

Re: Sysex to Midi-CC Roland V-Synth

Posted: Sat Apr 18, 2015 7:24 pm
by Rookie2
Hi there,
I always wished all Controller on the Roland V-Synth would be able to send MidiCC`s.
So, with Bomes Midi translator Classic, I wrote a little Patch, which convertet 19 of the 28 Controllers from Sysex to CC.
Find the Listing below, which Controller sends now which Midi-CC-Number.

Unfortunatly I couldn't fix the other nine Controller, cause I still don't own MidiTranslator Pro, which is necesarry for doing
a more complex converting. Maybee someone of you can still fix this.

Feel free to download the patch.
Best, Rookie2

OSC1
Pitch = CC 3
Time = CC 9
Formant = CC 14
LFO 1 = CC 15
LFO 2 = CC 16
LFO 3 = CC 17
LFO Rate = ( doesn't work yet)
Level = CC 19

OSC2
Pitch = CC 20
Time = CC 21
Formant = CC 22
LFO 1 = CC 23
LFO 2 = CC 24
LFO 3 = CC 25
LFO Rate = ( doesn't work yet)
Level = CC 27

COSM1
Cutoff = ( doesn't work yet)
Reso = ( doesn't work yet)

COSM2
Cutoff = ( doesn't work yet)
Reso = ( doesn't work yet)

TVA
Attack = ( doesn't work yet)
Decay = ( doesn't work yet)
Sustain = CC 82
Release = ( doesn't work yet)

Re: Sysex to Midi-CC Roland V-Synth

Posted: Wed Jun 28, 2017 6:49 pm
by sjcaldwell
The new Bome Q&A site has this updated solution

https://www.bome.com/support/kb/more-ro ... nswer-8765

Steve

bome@sniz.biz

Independent Bome Programming S p e c i a l i s t

Bome Q&A moderator