This forum is read-only. Please post new topics in our Q&A forum.

Can a BomeBox appear on a CopperLan network?

Discussion about the BomeBox

Moderators: florian, DvlsAdvct

Post Reply
xpander
New User
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2016 11:32 pm

Can a BomeBox appear on a CopperLan network?

Post by xpander » Sat Nov 12, 2016 11:58 pm

Can a BomeBox appear on a CopperLan network, just like a computer? Is the BomeBox a Linux computer? Would it have the capacity to run an embedded install of CopperLan?

User avatar
florian
Bome Software: Founder
Posts: 2435
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2005 10:09 pm
Location: Munich, Germany
Contact:

Re: Can a BomeBox appear on a CopperLan network?

Post by florian » Sun Nov 13, 2016 9:58 am

Hi,
the BomeBox is not specifically made for CopperLAN, and we do not know anything specific about this network protocol.

On the other hand, the BomeBox is running an embedded Linux indeed, and unless CopperLAN requires a lot of resources (memory, CPU), the BomeBox should be capable of running it. Our processes are often user-driven, so if there is enough demand, we may consider looking into this protocol and if it's possible (also legally) to add support. So far, we focus on adding OSC and RTP-MIDI.

Other than that, the BomeBox behaves like a standard Ethernet/WiFi network router and dual-port Ethernet switch, so any Ethernet protocol should work fine with the BomeBox as switch/DHCP server/etc.

Thanks,
Florian

User avatar
JacobiusWrex
Power User
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2016 5:38 pm
Location: Detroit, Michigan, USA

Re: Can a BomeBox appear on a CopperLan network?

Post by JacobiusWrex » Tue Jan 10, 2017 11:35 pm

I just got my Bomebox connected and yes, it automatically appears on the list in copper lan :D

Post Reply