This forum is read-only. Please post new topics in our Q&A forum.

Phantom Power through BomeBox

Discussion about the BomeBox

Moderators: florian, DvlsAdvct

Post Reply
User avatar
ibanman555
Power User
Posts: 185
Joined: Tue Nov 19, 2013 12:37 am
Location: Adirondacks, New York

Phantom Power through BomeBox

Post by ibanman555 » Wed Mar 16, 2016 1:49 pm

Hello to the powers that be!

I have a question regarding whether or not it will be safe to send 'phantom power' through midi pins 1 & 3 on the BomeBox. I have a processor that sends 15v 80a DC power over the pins to power an external foot controller. The controller sends program change messages now, but I will want to translate some of those program change messages to CC messages in the future using the Box. If I place the BomeBox in between my processor and my foot controller, will that power pass through using the 5 pin midi ports? Thanks!
"Great Minds discuss Ideas, Average Minds discuss Events, and Poor Minds discuss People"

User avatar
florian
Bome Software: Founder
Posts: 2435
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2005 10:09 pm
Location: Munich, Germany
Contact:

Re: Phantom Power through BomeBox

Post by florian » Wed Mar 16, 2016 2:30 pm

Hi, the MIDI standard specifies that pins 1 and 3 are disconnected. Consequently, it won't harm the BomeBox if you attach power to these pins, but they won't be passed through to MIDI OUT.
Florian

User avatar
ibanman555
Power User
Posts: 185
Joined: Tue Nov 19, 2013 12:37 am
Location: Adirondacks, New York

Re: Phantom Power through BomeBox

Post by ibanman555 » Wed Mar 16, 2016 2:37 pm

Ok Thanks! I am good with a soldering iron... :shock:
"Great Minds discuss Ideas, Average Minds discuss Events, and Poor Minds discuss People"

Post Reply