This forum is read-only. Please post new topics in our Q&A forum.

another Version Info question

General discussion about using Restorator.

Moderator: florian

Locked
Doug Smith
New User
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2005 3:29 pm

another Version Info question

Post by Doug Smith » Thu Aug 04, 2005 3:43 pm

My customer wants their Version Info in the version tab. Unfortunately it is someone else's runtime player and I can't legally change the info and of course I don't have the source code anyway. The customer would settle for another tab containing their copyright info. Is it possible to create another tab in an existing exe or is their another tab that I can use for my purpose?

Thanks for your help.

User avatar
florian
Bome Software: Founder
Posts: 2435
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2005 10:09 pm
Location: Munich, Germany
Contact:

Post by florian » Thu Aug 04, 2005 9:21 pm

I don't think there is a way to add a version tab in the Properties sheet of an .exe file. I tried adding a version resource, or an additional section in the version resource (as exhibited by acrobat reader: AcroRd32.exe), but it wouldn't display an additional Version tab (as expected).

The only thing that you can do, and which you can do easily with Restorator, is to add additional entries to the existing version resource. E.g. I just added some keys to a version, and now it looks like this in the Version tab:

Company Name - Microsoft Corporation
Internal Name - Notepad
Language - English (United States)
Original Filename - NOTEPAD.EXE
Product Name - Microsoft(R) Windows(R) 2000 Operating System
Product Version - 5.00.2140.1
Translation by - Florian
Translation Copyright - bome.com
Translation Version 1.0.1.0

Where the last three entries were added by myself (obviously).

Does that help?
Regards,
Florian

Doug Smith
New User
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2005 3:29 pm

Post by Doug Smith » Thu Aug 04, 2005 10:02 pm

Thanks for your help. It is an approach that I will be trying with the client however the problem is more complex than I had indicated. I also have to find a solution for the Mac side. At the moment it is looking like I will write a small launcher routine and put the (C) info on that file which I will have absolute control over. This solution works for both Mac and Windows.

Thanks again for your help.

Locked