This forum is read-only. Please post new topics in our Q&A forum.

How to add a version resource?

General discussion about using Restorator.

Moderator: florian

Locked
User avatar
florian
Bome Software: Founder
Posts: 2435
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2005 10:09 pm
Location: Munich, Germany
Contact:

How to add a version resource?

Post by florian » Wed Jul 27, 2005 10:04 pm

This was asked by a user of Restorator:

I need to add a Version resource to a .dll that I do not have the
source for. (...) I use Resource -> Add, then select Version. It adds the
Version to the treeview, but does not allow me to add the version
data. How can I fill the empty resource with version data?

User avatar
florian
Bome Software: Founder
Posts: 2435
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2005 10:09 pm
Location: Munich, Germany
Contact:

Post by florian » Wed Jul 27, 2005 10:04 pm

Restorator is primarily intended to edit existing resources. Adding resources is usually done by creating an empty resource and then assigning it with a file or another resource. Assigning can be done by the menu or by drag'n'drop.

So the most simple way for your task is to open your .dll file in Restorator, then also open another .exe or .dll file with a version resource and drag that version resource to your .dll. Now you'll have a new version resource with other contents, which you can edit with Restorator then. Once you've filled in your contents, you can of course use that modified resource as template for further .dll's.

That will also work with the trial version, just keep in mind that some text in the version resource will be overwritten when you save it.

Florian

Locked