Page 1 of 1

Add a background to a dialog Box

Posted: Tue Feb 03, 2009 4:11 am
by RBCC
How do I add a background to a dialog box?? John :D

Posted: Tue Feb 03, 2009 9:50 am
by florian
Hi, you may be able to do that, depending if the dialog box is visible in Restorator as a resource. Can you copy/paste the dialog code (e.g. in RC mode) here, and tell me what kind of background you'd like?

If it's a "Dialog" resource, you can also search MSDN for how to design such dialog resources.

Thanks,
Florian

Where do I put in ""

Posted: Sun Feb 08, 2009 3:53 am
by RBCC
CONTROL "", 2003, "STATIC", SS_BITMAP | SS_CENTERIMAGE, 126, 26, 99, 64, WS_EX_TRANSPARENT

In the above line do I put the resource number in the ""? Or where the 2003 is ?John

Posted: Wed Feb 18, 2009 8:58 pm
by florian
where your "" is you should put the number or the name of the BItmap resource that you want to display there.

Regards,
Florian

what's to 2003?

Posted: Wed Jul 22, 2009 8:42 am
by RBCC
Whats the 2003 for?John

Quotes

Posted: Wed Jul 22, 2009 8:44 am
by RBCC
with or without the quotes?

IN Vista

Posted: Thu Jul 23, 2009 4:22 pm
by RBCC
this is in Vista? John

Posted: Mon Jul 27, 2009 11:36 am
by florian
Hi,

all generic "CONTROL" statements follow this scheme:

Code: Select all

CONTROL text, id, class, style, x, y, width, height [, exstyle [, helpID]]
therefore, the 2003 above is the ID of the control. The ID is used by the program code to identify the control. If you add a control that is unknown by the program code, the ID is irrelevant. You should just try to use an ID that is not used elsewhere in that program.

Such resources will work with all Windows versions.

Regards,
Florian

is the control

Posted: Mon Jul 27, 2009 2:37 pm
by RBCC
Is the control the picture for the background? if the picture is named 110 then the id is 110? John

Posted: Mon Jul 27, 2009 10:41 pm
by florian
in that case, the "text" is the name of the Bitmap resource.

Regards
Florian

Do I?

Posted: Tue Jul 28, 2009 1:27 am
by RBCC
Do I change the 2003 to 110? jOHN :D

sHOULD IT LOOK LIKE?

Posted: Tue Jul 28, 2009 1:29 am
by RBCC
Should it look like:
CONTROL "110", 2003, "STATIC", SS_BITMAP | SS_CENTERIMAGE, 126, 26, 99, 64, WS_EX_TRANSPARENT?
John

Could you please show the finished product

Posted: Tue Jul 28, 2009 2:29 am
by RBCC
Could you show the final accurate line for the above? John :D :mrgreen:

Posted: Fri Jul 31, 2009 1:57 pm
by florian
I guess it should be this:
CONTROL 110, 2003, "STATIC", SS_BITMAP | SS_CENTERIMAGE, 126, 26, 99, 64, WS_EX_TRANSPARENT

only use quotes if not using a number.
Florian