Total noob needs help with MT

Peter

2006-12-15 06:35:44

I just downloaded the trail beta version of MT pro.

Unfortunately I know nothing about midi and have no clue what to do and it doesn't come with any noob friendly documentation.

I only just learned what VST means. I have a virtual music player called HappyEO which lets me play on on screen piano keyboard with my qwerty keyboard and it lets me select quite a lot of different instrument sounds but it's not so hardcore i think. I don't know if the MT pro will interface with it and let me alter the inputs for it on my keyboard.
I also have Bome's mouse keyboard so i could use that.

To start with, All i really want to do is know how to set it up so i can decide what key on my qwerty keyboard plays what note. I want to be able to play sharps/flats with the single press of a key also.
When i start MT Pro i just see a bunch of terms that i have no understanding of and i really know know how to even get started.
Could someone please post a basic tutorial for me but please go under the assumption that i don't know any terminology so explain it as if to a child ;)

Hope someone can help.

florian

2006-12-15 11:38:43

Peter wrote:Unfortunately I know nothing about midi and have no clue what to do and it doesn't come with any noob friendly documentation.
Indeed, documentation is quite high on the priority list. That's one of the reasons, why it's still in beta status.
Peter wrote:To start with, All i really want to do is know how to set it up so i can decide what key on my qwerty keyboard plays what note. I want to be able to play sharps/flats with the single press of a key also.
When i start MT Pro i just see a bunch of terms that i have no understanding of and i really know know how to even get started.
Could someone please post a basic tutorial for me but please go under the assumption that i don't know any terminology so explain it as if to a child ;)

Hope someone can help.