output only when last button released

limitedheadroom

2013-05-01 04:43:46

Hi all,

I'm pretty new to MT and wonder if anyone here could help me with something that has to be possible, and not too hard, I just can't figure out the solution.

I have an effect that is triggered by receiving midi notes, there are 8 presets, each triggered by different MIDI notes in an octave. Preset 1, triggered by a C3 is effect bypass. Then a D3 will trigger preset 2 and so on up to preset 8 on C4. The presets latch, so if you play a note, you then have to play C3 again to revert to no effect (it only responds to note on). I am using Bomes to take CC messages from buttons my controller and send out notes. The buttons send 127 when pressed and 00 when released. I have 2 translators for each button, one sends the appropriate note on when the button is pressed, the other sends a C3 when the button is released. This way there is effect with my hand on a button, no efect when I release, so no more having to go back and play C3 to turn off the effect which is a big improvement. The problem I am trying to solve is this. If I hold button 1, it send out D3 and I get preset 2, if I then hold button 2 as well, it sends E3, preset 3, all good, until I take my finger off button 1. It then sends out a C3 and I get no effect, even though i still have my finger on button 2. I want to program Bomes so that it won't send out the C3 note until I have released my finger from ALL the buttons, and only at the time I take my finger off the last button. So if I am pressing the buttons in a legato style the effect keeps going.

I have been trying to do it with variables, eg. if ga>=1 then ignore outgoing action,on all the translators that send out the C3 on button release. But I can't figure out how to make this work so maybe I'm barking up the wrong tree, I feel like it must be quite simple to achieve.

I hope this all makes sense, I'd really appreciate any help.

Thanks.

DvlsAdvct

2013-05-01 13:04:30