Newbie MT wiring advice request

bitSync

2013-03-29 18:05:22

Background

Greetings! I'm a Bome MIDI Translator (MT) newbie.

I am trying to troubleshoot an internal MIDI interface between two software applications residing on the same computer and connected to one another using 6 LoopBE30 internal MIDI ports. The 2 applications are Cakewalk's Sonar Producer X2a and BluAudio's D8Bridge v1.1. The D8Bridge application is a software translator that translates between the Mackie Control protocol understood by the Sonar X2a DAW application and the native serial communications language understood by the Mackie d8b console, thus coverting the d8b console into a 24 fader control surface intended to operate like 1 Mackie Control Universal (MCU) and 2 Mackie Control Extenders (XTs) in Mackie Control protocol mode by way of a USB/serial interface between the host computer and the d8b console (D8Bridge's external serial physical interface to the Mackie d8b).

I am using MIDI-OX to monitor and collect MIDI traffic over the 3 pairs of MIDI interfaces (6 ports), 1 I/O interface pair for each of the 3 MCU/XT software devices. The port numbers in the illustration above are the LoopBE30 internal MIDI port numbers and the monitoring points for MIDI-OX. I have collected sufficient MIDI traffic from the intialization of Sonar/D8Bridge to discover 2 SysEx messages from D8Bridge I suspect may be in error. When Sonar first boots it sends a series of 3 SysEx messages (queries, I believe) to what it thinks is an MCU unit and 2 XT units (control surface definitions manually configured inside Sonar by the user). Sonar correctly installs the proper MCU machine ID 0x14 in the SysEx message to the MCU and the proper XT machine ID 0x15 in the SysEx messages to the 2 XT units. Those messages are as follows.

F0 00 00 66 14 1A 00 F7 ; on the D8Bridge input port (2) to the MCU (machine ID 0x14, MCU)
F0 00 00 66 15 1A 00 F7 ; on the D8Bridge input port (4) to the first XT (machine ID 0x15, XT)