How to repeat sync'd midi note-on message

heathrobinson

2012-12-06 08:24:20

Hi,
I'm a complete noob as far as Bome's goes,and I don't have any aptitude for scripting.Plus I'm getting old.
Is there an easy-ish way to send tempo sync'd single repeats of a note-on midi message - or a better way of doing what I'm hoping?

It's basically for looping in Ableton clips.

I'm building a simple but huge foot pedal with each switch sending a single midi note-on on a single midi channel.

It's easy enought to send a note-on message to start recording into the desired clip,but I'm trying to find a way to automatically "close" the loop without having to press the switch again.

I'd only need two selectable loop lengths - 4bars and 8 bars would do.

The only other thing is that some switches would be controlling other functions - so their output would have to be ignored and not repeated.

Could anyone tell me how I could go about this?

To recap - how can I send,say,any note from note 0 to note 15 and have it repeat once at a selected interval of either 4 or 8 bars -

and have the rest of the notes ignored?

Or is there a better or easier way of doing it?

Thanks.

DvlsAdvct

2012-12-07 00:13:50

Hi heathrobinson

Yes this is possible.

What you need to do is set a track in Ableton that outputs a MIDI note every beat, and have that received by MT. When that note is received by MT. When a certain condition is met, for example when you press the command to trigger the note, MT will begin recording the incoming MIDI note and counting a variable. You will need two different translators, one to count to 4 and one to count to 8. And then when the variable reaches 8 it triggers the off message. I am going to make up commands to use but you can set them to whatever you want. It would look something like this:

Code: Select all

Translator 1: MIDI from Ableton
Incoming Message: 9F 00 7F
Rules: if g0!=1 then exit rules, skip outgoing action
Outgoing Message: Timer 4 beat loop 0ms delay