reverse sustain pedal

pianoguy

2012-08-30 00:58:07

Hey Guys!

My problem:
I'm using an Alesis Q49 keyboard together with Ableton Live 8.0.1 in order to do some recording. Everything works fine except for the sustain pedal which does exactly the opposite of what it's supposed to do. I googled for a solution and finally got myself Bome's midi translator. But now I'm a bit confused with the setup of Bome.

Basically I don't get the MIDI settings working: Which devices do I have to select as MIDI IN/OUT in Ableton and which devices do I have to select in Bome's?

And then finally: How do I reverse the sustain pedal?

Greetings
pianoguy

pianoguy

2012-08-30 01:00:28

As an excuse: I'm kind of new to this whole recording thing, hope you understand what I mean ;)

DvlsAdvct

2012-08-30 05:08:01

Hi pianoguy

Thanks for picking up the software. It can be understandably confusing.

In MIDI Translator you need to set default ports. You're going to have to select the drivers that you're using for the footswitch. So if it's plugged into the Q49 you need to use those drivers. Set the default ports in MIDI Translator to incoming the Q49, and the output as Bome MIDI Translator Virtual 1

Then you create a preset (the left side) and call it Footswitch, and on the right side create a translator for the Footswitch's signal. Name it Footswitch. On the incoming signal click "Capture" and press and release the footswitch. It should read something like 90 00 pp, correct? It may look different, if so that's fine.

I'm not sure what you mean by reverse, though. Do you want it to send an off signal when pressed and an on signal when released?

In Ableton you just need to select incoming from the Virtual 1 port. You don't need to set a device.

Make sense? There's a lot of stuff going on, so if this doesn't make sense that's completely understandable. Let me know and I can get more in depth with it.

:)
Jared

pianoguy

2012-08-31 01:01:43

Hey Jared!