using the ableton setup with an fcb 1010

slatepipe

2011-09-04 20:31:20

hi

im pretty new to all this and i have been playing around with the kid beyond ableton rig tutorial and can kind of get it to work with my midi bass guitar setup

i am using midi input instead of audio and midi tracks to build up loops of different midi instruments on my midi guitar on different tracks and i am trying to switch between these tracks using an fcb 1010 foot controller

im new here and have searched a bit for some solutions but im not sure if i understand exactly how this all fits together - i think that i need to assign pedals on the fcb to emulate the keystrokes that have been set up in the ableton live rig and i have started to get this working when i set up my own translators in my own little bmtp file but i think that i need to put more translators into the existing ableton bmtp file so that i can press a pedal to start/stop recording and not just a button on the keyboard....i hope i am thinking on the right lines here?

has anyone managed to do anything similar and can anyone give me any advice?

many thanks for any help

Attigo

2011-09-06 21:09:47

Hi slatepipe.

I would recommend assigning the MIDI output from your foot-pedal to start/stop recording command in Live. Do you know how to map in Live?

The other option is, if the kid beyond setup already has this start/stop recording feature built into the preset, you could just assign your foot-pedal to the input of the translator that sends this particular message.

Let me know if that helps!

thanks,
Scott

slatepipe

2011-09-07 13:50:18

hi scott

thanks for your reply

yes, i know how to midi map with live, though i am quite interested in using the kid beyond setup with my foot controller and midi bass guitar - i guess i need to assign the fcb pedals to individual midi cc numbers (which i have had a go at) and then figure out how and where to put them in the bmtp file in place of what is there already?