no bome midi-out selectable in audio app

Busty

2011-08-09 17:34:03

I'm having the problem of not being able to choose Bome's virtual midi-out as an midi-input in ProTools. It's just not there as an option, although I checked the box "Bome's Midi Translator 1 Virtual Out" as midi output in Midi Translator Pro.

The odd thing is, that I can choose Bome's Midi Translator as an midi output, although I didn't check the box at Midi input.

Am I missing something? What do I have to do to get the output of Midi Translator Pro selectable in my Audio application?

Thanks for any advice

Attigo

2011-08-16 21:57:49

Hi Busty,

As far as I am aware, ProTools is very limited in terms of MIDI control, you should only be able to use controllers that they have hard-coded into the software... unless I am missing something? I am not an experienced ProTools user.

If I am wrong, you could try some troubleshooting:

- Make sure the MIDI port is enabled in MIDI trans (can can still select an output port even if it is not enabled)
- Try installing a second virtual MIDI port through the MIDI Translator preferences. There may have been issues when installing your first one.
- Do the MIDI ports show up in other programs?

thanks,
Scott

Busty

2011-09-14 16:34:15

Scott,

thanks for your answer, it took a while til I got the time to check it out.

Apparently you were absolutely right, it appears to be a ProTools issue. The moment I launch ProTools, the Midi Translator's event monitor doesn't recogize any input anymore. So ProTools blocks Midi Translator somehow.
It seems to work just fine in Cubase.

Problem is, I'm a ProTools guy, so this doesn't help me beyond the point of troubleshooting. I guess I just have to dig in deeper into that issue...

But thanks very much, your answer was helpful as to know where to look.

florian

2011-09-14 21:13:19

Hi,