APC 40 Ableton / Traktor Pro custom template switching

josephperkins

2010-01-09 04:11:46

Hi All

I run Traktor through ableton using Jack OSX. both synced.

I've recently purchased on APC 40 and would like to use it to control both programs. I have some experience in Bome MTpro.

First question is how to program LED feedback for the pads?

I'm good at reverse engineering tempates if anyone has got one.

Please send to Joe_perkins_1982@hotmail.com

S4racen

2010-01-13 11:54:50

How are you getting on Joe?/

Cheers
D

Attigo

2010-01-16 15:46:07

Hi Joe,

As far as I know, to control the LED feedback on the APC 40 you send MIDI messages to the input port. I don't have a template for what the APC sends/receives but I recommend using Midi OX to reverse engineer. Just have that and Ableton Live open and connect your controller, you can see what MIDI messages are being sent from and to your APC and take it from there... I did the same thing with a Mackie HUI Controller (and will be doing it with an APC soon enough).

As for Jack OSX, I don't know much about, can you set Traktor up to receive messages through Ableton? Or from the same port? How do you set this up?

Scott

Johnny Vulcan

2010-02-23 11:16:19

I can't speak for template switching, but I'm trying to sort that out now.
I also run the same general setup as you, but right now the way I do it is to run the APC in it's default state, rather than in native mode with Live. So the only midi Live recieves is the clock from Traktor and custom messages from BomeMT.
-Meaning, I am not using the "handshake" with Live. So far, it's a great setup, I can control all of Traktor and whatever I set up in BomeMT to do in Live.

However, what I'd really like to do is to be able to switch between the "handshake" mode, to get the benefits of the two way communication btw Live and the APC, and a Traktor only mode, where any manipulation of the controls ONLY affects Traktor. I know it can be done, but how...?