Will Midi Translator Do THIS?? Help please!

kryptonite

2009-06-20 13:22:35

Hi there! I have been trying to find a software program to solve my problem and Midi Translator is coming highly recommended. Before I purchase the program, I want to make sure it will do something. Forgive my ignorance, but I am very new to Midi.

Controller = Pioneer DJM-800 mixer
Software = Serato Scratch Live

My issue is that the Pioneer mixer does not come with software to change any of the midi messages that it outputs. I use "cue points" in Serato frequently. I should be able to able to hit a button once (the "1" button for instance) and it goes to that cue point immediately - on my laptop keyboard, of course this works easily. I want to use my Pioneer to control this - here is where the problem occurs and what I need your help with.

I can map my Pioneer Mixer to the cue points in Serato. Currently, however, the lowest preset number of "steps" on the mixer is 2. That is, I have to hit the button once to go to the cue point, once to turn it off, once again to go to the cue point, once to turn it off, etc, etc (on/off/on/off). I need to be able to hit the once once and it go to the cue point, once and it go to the cue point, once and it go to the cue point, etc (on/on/on/on).

This seems very simple in my mind, but no one on the Pioneer or Serato forums seem to be able to help me! I just need to know:

1. Can I use Midi Translator to manipluate each midi message from a two step button so that it goes to the cue point every time?
2. If so, can you give me a very brief example of how to do it?

Thank you very much for your help. I PROMISE that if this software can do this for me, I will be buying it TODAY!!

:D

beatniks3

2009-06-20 17:14:37

it sounds like it is a matter of going from a toggle style button to a momentary style button which is very possible in bomes. I'm using it currently to do the opposite.

if you do a forum search for toggle or momentary you see some solutions.