Are these Translator stragegies correct?

gabriels

2009-04-21 00:26:01

I’m just learning to use rules in Translator Pro, and hope someone can lend a hand. Are these observations correct?
1) If Translator 1 creates an Outgoing midi message using a global variable (for example BO 4C ga). It seems I can’t use this message as input to a subsequent translator, but can only send the midi message to the output Midi port. So, global variables are not transmitted between translators by embedding them in midi messages, they are just stored somewhere, and then retrieved and analyzed by other translators. And Outgoing message are not available for other translators to evaluate or modify?
2) Say I set a global variable to either 0 or 127 in Translator 1. Now, in subsequent translators I want the following to happen:
- If the global variable is 0 then:
- execute Translator 2
- execute Translator 3
- execute Translator 4

- If the global variable is 127 the:
-execute Translator 5
-execute Translator 6
-execute Translator 7

Since I can only execute a single action with a translator, it seems that I have to use rules in Translators 2,3, and 4, and in Translators 5,6,and 7 to determine whether or not to execute (depending on the global variable value.

What I’d really like to do is to set a branch-point, and depending one single evaluation of the variable value, steer the program to execute all translators in one branche or the other.
3) I think I found a way to do the above with preset changes (with the option of disabling other presets clicked “on”). Is that the "correct" way to achieve this goal? Can somebody give me an example of the most efficient way to do this type of branching?
Thanks
Gabriel

ruediger

2009-04-21 13:34:27

Hi gabriels,

1) is correct. But you can use a timer with delay 0 for that, set global variabels with the outgoing midi messages and start the timer. There you can work with the global variables.