New user - midi ableton live looping setup?

wisemonkey

2009-02-06 05:14:25

Hi,

I'm hoping you can help me. I'm new to MT - I'd like to use a single midi input event (eg. a hit on an electronic drum pad) to simultaneously start recording a midi loop in ableton live, which ends after say 2 bars, and then continues to loop while I play other parts.

I have gotten part of the way there, but now I'm stuck.

In midi translator (I have the mac beta), I created a new translator. MT captured the midi input note, and I made the output a key combination that should fire off the keystrokes that I've assigned in Live.

First problem:
I can see midi input, but no midi output. The output is set to virtual midi output. I can bring the input up in Live, but nothing seems to be transmitted.

Second problem:
How do make the recording loop in Live turn off at a set time - say, after two bars, when it stops recording and just continues to play.

Thanks for your help.

Maddcow

2009-02-06 11:10:40

wisemonkey wrote:First problem:
I can see midi input, but no midi output. The output is set to virtual midi output. I can bring the input up in Live, but nothing seems to be transmitted.
Why would there be MIDI output from BMT if the output is a keystroke emulation, not MIDI data? So long as Live is the front-most application, the keystroke output from BMT should activate your Live shortcut keys with no problems. You don't need to configure Live to accept MIDI input from BMT for keystrokes only.

wisemonkey

2009-02-06 11:43:52

Hi Maddcow - I take your point. To clarify, Live wasn't responding to keystrokes either.

Maddcow

2009-02-06 23:35:01

wisemonkey wrote:To clarify, Live wasn't responding to keystrokes either.