MT & Ableton Live: track arming/disarming with patch cha

Maddcow

2009-01-26 13:52:55

Hi all. I'm new to MT and am using it with Ableton Live 7.0.14 on a Mac. Here's what I'd like to do:

I'm using 5 different softsynths on 5 different tracks and want to arm individual tracks when certain patch changes are received, but then disarm those tracks when patch changes are received that utilize a different synth on another track.

Is it possible to configure MT to arm a certain track/s (via a pre-configured keystroke) when certain patch change numbers are received, but then disarm that track/s when other patch numbers are received that don't use that particular track/s? Also, I sometimes layer the synths by using 2 or more simultaneously and so there are times that I'd need to arm multiple tracks simultaneously too.

I know it's easy enough to arm a track when a certain patch number is received, but I'm not sure how I'd go about configuring MT to disarm the track when other patch numbers are received that don't use that track. I guess I'd need MT to retain variables that record the current state of each track and whether it should be armed/disarmed depending on the patch numbers being received? Live uses toggle state switching for track arming/disarming instead of separate On/Off states, and so I need a solution where I can't accidentally arm/disarm a track because the toggle state somehow gets messed up.

Here's a practical example:
Patch #01, #05, #06, #11 = Track 1 ON, tracks 2-5 OFF
Patch #02 = Tracks 2 & 3 ON, tracks 1,4 & 5 OFF
Patch #03, #19, #07 = Track 2 ON, tracks 1,3,4,5 OFF