yamaha dtx explorer to reason redrum

Raicome

2008-12-12 11:55:49

I want to get my midi output from my dtx explorer kit to be assigned into redrum in reason can i use mt to do that, and or how will i do that.

Midi output from yamaha dtx explorer

bass drum a0
snare g0
tom high c2
tom medium b1
tom bass g1
hh open a#1
hh closed f#1
crash c#2
ride d#2

redrum is assigned normal from c1 to a1.

florian

2009-01-04 23:31:20

Hi, sorry for the late reply. It's fairly easy to do that with MIDI Translator. Just create a translator entry that maps incoming MIDI to outgoing MIDI according to the map that you listed. Open DTX in MT, and use a virtual MIDI port to connect MT to Redrum.
The user manual should give you more insight how to do all that...

Thanks,
Florian

fretfury

2009-03-02 22:35:10

Hi there, I am new to the whole world of MIDI, but my problem seems one that you might be able to help with. I have a DTXplorer and am trying to use it to trigger redrum. as you'll know, redrum uses notes C1 - A1, but only 3 of these values are represented with the DYXplorer Notes (the hi hat foot controller, hi hat pad closed and the low tom) if you know how to use MT to set your DTXplorer up to trigger redrum could you please let me know, it would be much appreciated.

Thanks
John

florian

2009-03-04 17:55:25

Hi Fretfury,

sorry, I don't know your device enough to be able to help you here. Maybe someone else here has one and can help you. Or try on a DTXplorer related forum you have have better luck?

Regards,
Florian

fretfury

2009-03-04 21:15:33

All good I sorted it last night. It was just a matter of converting the hexadecimal value out so i could re route the midi note numbers. cheers

Beermilkshake

2009-04-21 19:03:39

Hi, I'm basically trying to do the same thing, but with an Alesis Performance Pad (which is like the Alesis Controlpad only with built in sounds).

I'm new to midi mapping.