A preset within a preset? Ableton

feno

2008-10-31 02:22:06

Hi all....shameful noob here....I've started making simple translator presets for looping with ableton

I'm now attempting something way beyond my "skill" level and I'm wondering if it can be done.....

the input to bome will be from a midi pedal sending program change mesages 1 to 10 (these are constants and do not change)

there wil be 6 presets which I'll want to change manually (with a midi controller)..
on "preset 1" I would like the program change messages 1-10 to output as midi cc values 1-10
on "preset 2" ; program change 1-10 wil output cc 11-20
on "preset 3"; program change 1-10 will output cc 21-30
and so on untill preset 6

(no problems there right?)

where I'm starting to get a little hazy is, say I'm in preset 1...I press "3" on my pedal..program change 3 is sent to bome......cc 3 is then sent to ableton and triggers a clip into record.....what i'd LOVE now is to..
...press "4" on my pedal..program change 4 is sent to bome.......not only does bome output cc 4 (causing a new clip to record) but bome also outputs cc 3 THUS CAUSING THE PREVIOUSLY RECORDED CLIP (cc3) TO STOP RECORDING.....

this last piece of functionality is available in the excellent "kid beyond" thread. However, it requires the use of an extra preset; something which I no longer have....(i think)......

The title of this thread just about sums it up, it wil probably require a preset within a preset...but as already mentioned, I'm a total noob so maybe there is another way around it?

If anyone actually understands what I've just written (i've just read through it....my head hurts!) I am in complete awe of you....! If you can then tell me how I might actually go about doing this you will be forever remembered as the greatest forum friend EVER.. Free pints if you ever come to Cork also!
Thank You
jamie

feno

2008-10-31 10:43:22

anyone :)

red33mer

2008-10-31 11:07:17