Problem with Midi Translator and In-Game Bindings

skaptimusprime

2007-02-13 05:00:07

Hi, I'm new to this program and excuse my ignorance if there actually is a simple solution to this...but, a couple of days ago, I started playing a beta for Lord of the Rings Online, which conveniently has a feature that lets you use your [computer] keyboard to play music in-game.

I figured this would be the perfect chance to try out this program and generate those keystrokes with my MIDI keyboard, and trying it out with AIM, Notepad, and even the in-game chat seems to suggest that these keystrokes are being correctly triggered. However, when trying to use this system to play music in-game (using 1-8, shift, and ctrl), the game failed to recognize any of the keystrokes. I tried going into the in-game control set up to bind each key manually, but the game recognized the keystroke this program generated as something foreign, I assume, because the label for the key pressed was simply blank. The game correctly played that note when I played it on the keyboard, but upon binding a second note, both notes played on the keyboard generated the same note in-game, suggesting they're generating the same keystroke.

I realize how confusing that my sound, but I was wondering if anyone knows a solution?

The way I have Midi Translator set is as follows:

Note On: C4, velocity 127, channel 1 : 1 X
Note On: D4, velocity 127, channel 1 : 2 X
etc.

Thanks in advance.

florian

2007-02-20 11:29:43

Hi,

indeed, there are applications that use a separate way to receive the keystrokes from the user (e.g. DirectInput). That way they will not recognize the emulated keystrokes from Midi Translator.

A future version of MT will feature a keyboard driver which will feature a much better keyboard emulation. If you don't mind, I can sign you up for beta testing this feature.

Thanks,
Florian

buncan

2007-03-14 19:06:08

hi,
i got exactly the same problem.
if possible, please add me to your beta list :)