Volume override with MIDI Translator?

eno

2016-10-19 18:06:04

Hello, I'm a newbie here and want to find out if the MIDI Translator can help me to solve one problem. I have a MIDI guitar and a MIDI volume pedal and I want to control the volume by the pedal rather than by the velocity of my sting picking so need to override the volume content of the MIDI signals from the guitar with the volume signal from the pedal. Can I do that using MIDI Translator? Thanks!

Sakis

2016-10-20 00:37:57

As long as the volume pedal transmits Midi data ,yes it's possible :D

florian

2016-11-01 11:57:02

Hi eno, let us know if you need assistance with setting up MT Pro for that!
Florian

eno

2016-11-01 18:11:50

Thanks Florian.

In addition to velocity flattening (this is easy I guess) I also need to silence the glitches (very short notes). I'm trying to figure out an algorithm for that:
- The first translator is triggered by note-on event, waits a sertain delay time and checks if the current note ID is equal to note_off_ID. If yes then no further action, if no the note goes to the output
- The second translator is triggered by note-off event and sets a global variable note_off_ID

I understand that if there are two glitches occuring at the same time then the ID of the first one will be overwritten by the second one but this scenario is very unlikely because the glitches are very short so it's ok.

Do you think this will work? Will the second translator be triggered independently and in parallel with the first translator while the first translator is executing the wait? The flowchart on p.78 of the manual shows a sequential processing but then the section 12.3 talks about parallel processing so I'm confused.

sjcaldwell

2016-11-01 18:53:49

From what I've observed it looks like although the translators execute sequentially, they do not wait until the current translator is executed before moving on to the next, so execution appears sequential but processing appears parallel.