Mouse Control Assigned To Fader/Knob

ckirkendall

2016-10-05 13:36:41

So I'm very new to midi controllers as well as its language.

Wanting to assign a knob or fader to make the mouse move to a certain position on my screen, then click and drag either vertically or horizontally (depends on the value I want to change.)

So the fader and knob does have a stopping point. So the fader of course goes all the way down and all the way up. The knob goes all the way to he left and to the right. So no infinite turning.

Please do remember I am extremely new to midi signal coding language.

I have programmed a pad on my MPC to trigger a keystroke and I understand how to do that.

Any links to understanding beginner on midi in general would be helpful but really looking into achieving the specifics I have mentioned above.

gabriels

2016-10-09 05:51:51

It sounds as if you want to do the equivalent of using your mouse to click on a fader that has vertical orientation on your screen and then move it up or down. And you want to do a similar thing to a horizontal fader (maybe a dj style crossfader.
If the host program allows you to map midi messages to faders, there's a simpler way to do it.
Could you explain what application you are trying to control, and what you're trying to achieve?

ckirkendall

2016-10-09 05:58:25

So I'm trying to use my MIDI controller in After Effects. I have a window (That will always be in its location) where an effect has sliders to control the properties of that effect. I would like to know if I can map either a knob or fader on my controller to have the mouse jump via x, y coordinates and then click and hold, then the mouse will move vertically or horizontally depending on if it is a fader or knob.

I have mapped out my pads and other buttons on my controller to do keystrokes, but looking to take it a step further.

One other thing, FYI, I don't even know how to find my x, y coordinates. Is there an utility to do that? I'm on a MAC.

gabriels