Using one MIDI device with several applications

Scr1pter

2016-05-30 11:08:42

Hello,

Yesterday I made some tests with my Synth (Bass Station II) and I was already able to
move the mouse cursor by using a knob.
When I wanted to start my DAW (Studio One 3), it said, "Failed to open Bass Station II [Emulated]"

From what I read I need some "special MIDI drivers" in order to access 1 device with several MIDI applications.
Is that true or do I need some kind of "bridge"?
I'm new to this - normally I only use 1 application and not several at once.

I have Windows 7.

P.S: I also have Virtual MIDI ports inside of MIDI Translator PRO (I think they are there by default.)

Best regards

DvlsAdvct

2016-05-31 15:38:56

Hi Scr1pter, again :)

Devices need to have the capability of being utilized by multiple devices at the same time. You can use the MIDI Router in MT Pro to have the Bass Station pass data on to your DAW, but it won't be able to utilize any integration that may be included. you would need to map the entire device.

I am not sure if the Bass Station II is able to communicate with multiple applications, but if you have two other programs, it might be worth seeing if it can connect to those without MT Pro.

Thanks
Jared

Scr1pter

2016-06-01 10:47:42

Hi Jared, again ;)

Ok, I will test this.
I used the Bass Station II just for testing because I tried it out on my laptop.
My main device is the M-Audio Oxygen IV 61.

Good, so I will try to add the device into the MIDI router and see if it gets recognized in Studio One.

Thanks!

ibanman555

2016-06-01 15:54:24

I have seen this problem occur in the past as well, and if for some reason you are still having trouble solving the issue, PM me and we can discuss and I can provide you with a driver that will most likely eliminate the single host issue.

florian

2016-06-02 22:00:37

but can't you just route all MIDI messages using the MIDI router from MT to the DAW using MT's MIDI Router and its virtual MIDI ports?