Midi Newbie trying to light up a midi controller

tomwrn

2016-05-05 16:34:04

Hey guys, I am wondering if i can use the translator to get midi controllers to light up their buttons by default? I have 2 midi controllers: a Novation LaunchControl and Akai APCMini and neither lights up its buttons when using a program other than the default audio program it was built for.

I am a photo editor who works in a dark room and would like the lights on all buttons/knobs. I was told it was possible to turn them on with Midi Translator. I believe it involves sending a NoteOn signal to all keys as well as a Velocity signal to specify color. I got the codes from the manufacturer. Just not sure how to implement them. I don't know anything about midi. Help!!!

ibanman555

2016-05-06 19:02:55

Can you post those codes here?

tomwrn

2016-05-06 20:00:35

there is a mapping document made by Akai for another of its devices.
I was told it should work for my ApcMini as well.
Here is a link to the pdf: http://6be54c364949b623a3c0-4409a68c214 ... _rev_1.pdf

and here is a relevant excerpt from page 7
either the Note-on or Controller change message should apply, i think.

The Note-On Message-
Format of Note-On message
Byte Number Value Description
1 0x9<Chan> MIDI Note on, where Chan is a value from 0 – F and
specifies the MIDI channel.
2 <Note Number> Note Number
3 <Velocity> Velocity of the key-press. For controls that are not
velocity sensitive, this value should be 0x7F

The Controller Change Message-
APC40 Mk2 sends MIDI Controller Change messages from its buttons and knobs. It can
also receive Controller Change messages to turn LEDs On/Off
Format of Controller Change message
Byte Number Value Description
1 0xB<Chan> MIDI Controller Change, where Chan is a value from
0 – F and specifies the MIDI channel.
2 <Controller> Note Number

ibanman555

2016-05-06 20:46:01

Cool, thanks for the information. MT Pro can do what you are looking for.