Program Change to Note with a rule

urbangipsy

2016-04-06 17:50:11

Hello Bome community!

First I would like to say hi to everyone and note that I am a complete beginner with Bome Midi translator. Until now I have used Midi Patchbay and MidiPipe but it seems they can't help me on my mission. I turn to you because you can probably see I am a bit overwhelmed but still trying to do quite a simple thing.

On one side I have a drum machine that sends out Program Changes when patterns change. On the other side I have an iOS app ModStep for which I want to receive notes (to change clips), generated from those drum machine program changes. I figured out how to translate program changes to notes one at a time - so this is solved. The problem occurs when I want the drum machine to play the same pattern multiple times but at the same time I want to send the note to ModStep app only when a different pattern is triggered, not before.

I think this could be solved with a simple rule with a few variables but I admit, I am lost. Would be most grateful if anyone could advise where to look. Thank you so much.

Kind regards

urbangipsy

2016-04-07 02:54:21

I think I may have found a solution. I recorded Midi translator output with Ableton and noticed it is outputting 2 notes for a single pattern change. But the first note is not doubled. Now the only thing left to do would be filtering out the second note - what would be the easiest way to do this? Probably writing this note to "rules" with some code. Please help :oops:

DvlsAdvct

2016-04-07 04:18:50

Hi urbangipsy

For your first problem, you can use a global variable in the rules for each translator. Pick one like g0, for example. Each translator would have a rule that looks like:

if g0==1 then exit rules, skip outgoing action
g0=1