Control Pro Tools Aux Sends with Bome?

jaymelewis

2015-03-29 08:02:55

So here's what I want to do; I own a recording studio and I'd love to hand the incoming musicians a tablet and say, "here, control your headphone mix with this." We do this all the time with FOH consoles when playing live. In fact, almost every digital console today comes standard with this type of feature. I'd like to do it from within a Pro Tools session, allowing them to control their headphone mixes via the Pro Tools aux sends A-E.

I've been searching the web for months looking for an app that does this, and none exist. Cubase has something close built in, but then I'd have to buy a new recording platform. So, I figured I would try to create my own. I'm a recording engineer and musician, not a software programmer. I'm somewhat competent in basic AHK stuff, and I use Bome to control Pro Presenter lyrics, videos and magic MagicQ lights with Ableton Live, but I'm by no means an app programmer.

Ideally, I think it would work like this - in theory I would design a TouchOSC app for Android (I could buy 5 of them for the price of 1 iPad) that would connect the Bome via wifi and export HUI data to Pro Tools that would ONLY allow the altering of a particular Aux mix. That's the current problem with most of the DAW control apps, there's too much control for the players to screw up, and I can't use multiple devices for multiple players.

It seems logical to me because I know that TouchOSC can send MIDI data to a computer and Bome can translate that to HUI for PT to read, but I'm not skilled enough to make this happen yet. Can anyone point me in the right direction to start with, perhaps someone has done this before or know a good tutorial I can look at in order to make this happen?

So many thanks in advance, I look forward to your replies!

DvlsAdvct

2015-03-30 15:24:21