Encoder Program Changes

Jorgalad

2015-03-02 08:25:31

Hey Everybody,

I've been working with BomeMT for a few months now and I realy like the software, together with ClyphX and remote scripts it enables me to do awesome stuff for my liveset!

There are just a few more things I need to figure out though.
I'm playing a lot of different synth patches live with my MIDI keyboard and want to be able to switch between them.
Initially I learned the chain selector in Ableton, but this was very CPU heavy becasue I needed 15 different copies of the same synth.
So I've been looking into program changes and found a cool Max device to learn those to an encoder, but I would like to set this up through Bome so that I don't have to use Max.
Sending fixed program changes is pretty straightforward, but it only allows you to send one. How can I set up the encoder so that every new CC goes to the next program in the bank?
I'm also open to other options, even thought about running the softsynths outside of Ableton in a standalone application of some kind, I just want everything as efficiently and error proof possible :)

Thanks!
Oh btw I'm on OSX and my keyboard is an Arturia Keylab61

DvlsAdvct

2015-03-06 15:12:25

This is totally doable. I am going to show you how to do this every 5 steps of the encoder, but you can change the rate depending on your preference. I'm assuming the keylab is using endless encoders.

Code: Select all

Translator 1: Knob Turn Counter Clockwise
Incoming Message: B0 30 3F
Rules: g0=g0+1
if g1>0 then g1=0
if g0!=4 then exit rules, skip outgoing action
if g0==4 then ga=ga-1
g0=0
if ga<0 then ga=0
Outgoing Action: C0 ga

Translator 2: Knob Turn Clockwise
Incoming message: B0 30 41
rules: g1=g1+1
if g0>0 then g1=0
if g1!=4 then exit rules, skip outgoing action
if g1==4 then ga=ga+1
g1=0
if ga>127 then ga=0
Outgoing Action: C0 ga