Taming the QChord's MIDI output

BJG

2015-03-01 13:29:15

Hi all -

I have a Suzuki QChord, the lastest incarnation of the Omnichord, which I'd like to use for 'strumming' VST instruments like a harp.

Unfortunately it has a pretty crazy MIDI implementation which has caused a fair amount of exasperation over the years from would-be users. One of the longest discussions is at KVR here:

http://www.kvraudio.com/forum/viewtopic.php?p=3505481

It seems to me that Bome might provide an ideal solution, but as a newbie I'd be grateful if someone could help me figure out how to approach it.

Basically, you can hold down a chord button (eg D), strum the scratchplate, and the QChord will play a ripple of D Bb A notes in ascending octaves. But in terms of the MIDI output, all you get is a stream of C notes with pitch bend info on three different MIDI channels (14, 15, 16). I get the impression this works with GM sound modules, but it's hopeless with anything else. In MIDI Ox, the data for a "D" harp strum as described looks like this.

So we get three "C" notes on 14, 15, 16 repeated in rising octaves, and pitchbend messages which must move these notes to D, Bb, A. (I don't know what the blue CC stuff is, or whether I need it.) If you feed it into a VST synth, all you get is a bunch of out-of-tune C notes.

Any suggestions on how I could use Bome to process this into something more useful like actual notes would be gratefully received...

:-)

DvlsAdvct

2015-03-06 15:03:53

Well, this strikes me as a fun one. This is going to take a lot of experimentation to follow.

First, when you press the chord button, does Midi-Ox pick up any info? For example, does it send a note message that's unique for each button, or is that all handled internally by the controller?

Those CC messages are some sort of 14-bit message (MSB/LSB). I don't know what they control. Do they trigger whenever you hit the scratch pad, or do they trigger at any other time?