Midi Note to CC To Control Global tempo in Ableton live

Perradiddle

2015-02-16 21:46:19

Hi, I'm using a Midi fighter Spectre to control Ableton Live as a transport setup for changing songs for a click track.

I'm a drummer sometimes I use tap tempo and it works well, but ideally I'd like to change the global tempo by 1 increment up or down. The info it needs is CC midi mapping wise..The Spectre only sends straight note info or momentary which doesn't work for me.

Is there a way to change the midi note info so that 2 buttons can control the global tempo by 1 BPM up or Down?

DvlsAdvct

2015-02-16 21:54:53

Hi Perradiddle

Bome MIDI Translator can easily handle that task. What you need to do is create a translator which will receive the Note Messages you're sending and then send out the necessary CC message instead. Do you know what the CC messages you need are?

Jared

Perradiddle

2015-02-16 22:03:53

Sadly I'm a complete noob to this.. I've found this chart..http://nickfever.com/music/midi-cc-list

Would I need CC 96 and 97?

It says up and down 1 increment.

In Ableton it gives me 2 options. A min number and a maximum number for the tempo I guess it's designed for a dial or fader..

That's all the info I understand.

If I press the down button I want mapped on the Spectre I get

Channel 3 Note E1

If I press the up button I want I get.

Channel 3 Note F1

DvlsAdvct

2015-02-17 00:43:26

You can create any custom mapping you want for Ableton, so there's no need to deal with that.

You are going to use two translators for this, for simplicity's sake. Each one will take in a note message (92 1C 7F for Channel 3 Note E1 and 92 1D 7F for Channel 3 Note F1), and will spit out a CC message (let's say B2 30 3F and B2 30 41) for a relative bit.