Making a controller do HUI?

the19thbear

2014-06-16 08:21:47

Hi. I am completely new to MT. What i would love to do is to take my Bitstream 3x and use it as a HUI controller to control some of my UAD plugins - especially the space echo plugin. The bitstream 3x controller *should* be HUI enabled, but the controller itself is not activly supported anymore and a lot of the features simply dont work (HUI control included). For htose that dont know the controller its a row of 32 pots (not endless) and 8 faders (no motor control).

As far as i know HUI only support control of 8 plugin parameters at a time, so i would like to somehow convert my normal midi CC coming out of the controller to something that can control the space echo plugin, plus do the midi ping that the HUI protocol needs in pro tools. On top of that i need a "bank" switch to go to be able to reach all the plugin paramaters ( banks of 8 would be nice).
Is there a way to do this? I searched a bit here, but since im completely new it just seemed easier if someone who tried any of this in the past, would kindly chime in.

DvlsAdvct

2014-06-17 16:56:56

Hi the19thbear

Do you, by any chance, have a reference for the HUI messages that are required in your plugins? We can convert any MIDI message to a HUI message but we need to know what HUI messages your plug in is listening for.

Thanks
Jared

the19thbear

2014-06-17 22:13:22

I found this:
http://home.comcast.net/~robbowers11/MCMap.htm
Which seems very helpful!
I just dont understand how i can convert the blue area (see link) to anything understood by MT. First i would need the "plugins" parameter emulated and then the vpots along with the v pot buttons (i think).

If i find the right sysex code how do i write in the whole pot turn and not just a specific pot position? i can't type in 127 different positions for the pot.. only one it seems, but i know it can be done.

sorry for the noobness;)

DvlsAdvct

2014-06-18 03:02:27