generic usage

kdwykleingeld

2014-01-20 06:34:11

Hi, i am new to bome midi trasnslator and have a generic question to better understand if bome is applicabe for my use case ..

Assume i have a midi controller with lots of buttons, turn knobs , faders , jog wheel etc (for example electrix tweaker , or behringer pl-1 or numark orbit or other ) .. that is capable of sending midi notes/cc messages ..

and i want to control multiple software packages, running on my pc , from this controller,, simultanously ... i.e.:

1) i want to control my audio interface (rme fireface) through its totalmix software (which can receive midi cc/notes) to perform several functions.. mainly control main volume .. and some faders for inputs / outputs

btw .. total mix can also receive macky protocol msesages

2) i want to control my media player (jriver) to select albums .. and start / stop / pause etc ... jriver can only be controlles through "command line" commands .. such as "mc18.exe /Play"

3) i want to control my audacity software .. to edit stuff... audacity can only be controlled through "keyboard" and mouse commands .. also jogwheel is used here to move forward backward in a song

question ...

would this be a typical use case for bome ? so bome will interact with multiple appliactions using multiple ways to interact simultanously .. so that i can controll it all from 1 place

and would it be possible to assign for example 1 button as switch to toggle between applications .. so that you have the whol controlles available for an applicatioon .. and after toggle you control the other one

thx Koen

DvlsAdvct

2014-01-20 18:06:51

Hi Koen

Most of what you want to do is doable in MIDI Translator, definitely. Right now there isn't a way to open different windows, however, but if you are on a PC you should be able to recreate the Alt+Tab command to select a new window.