Midi drivers cables and hosts for cs1x

Tundra444

2007-11-26 14:32:59

Hello Everyone.

I have a question: I have a midi to usb cable, I have pooled all the resources for the Yamaha cs1x including the cbx drivers from Yamaha. http://www.yamahaproaudio.com/downloads ... r/cbx.html

Do I need the pc host cable as well? I am new to midi but used to usb/midi controllers to pc, using Ableton live 6 with lots of Vsti's so have a pretty good feel for what I am supposed to be doing, but can someone give me better guidance as nothing is really happening at the moment.

I would like to use my cs1x as a midi controller and I have an old working windows 98 laptop also which I could use to run cs1x edit and other patch set up utilities, what is the low down ?

Cheeeeeeeeers :mrgreen:

florian

2007-11-26 23:35:54

Hi,

that should work without problems on the laptop. Make sure it's "Windows 98 SE" for full USB support. Then you don't need the ToHost stuff, just connect the USB MIDI cable to the MIDI ports at the CS1x and that should be it. Make sure to connect both the USB cable's MIDI OUT to CS1x's MIDI IN, and the USB's MIDI OUT to CS1x's MIDI IN.

If that doesn't work, please give details what exactly is working and what's not...

Thanks,
Florian

Tundra444

2007-12-10 08:04:43

Thankyou for your quick reply, I did'nt know if anyone was still errrre.

I finally gave up on the cable's I bought from e-bay, decided they were cheap and nasty and most probably badly made,

I turned to my best instincts and bought an M-audio midi sport hub, which runs on bus power and sports a quick exchange of midi data.

I'm working with Ableton Live 6, and it's working really well, I'm using 'Tune em Up' for Cs1x and it's great being able to try new sounds, I can see the benefit of using CS1x edit though with it's mini midi keyboard.

I reckon I'm gonna try lot's and lot's of new layers on the 'X' there is still plenty to be explored from all of the XG sounds.