How to handle MIDI guitar signals most effectively

famusvictim

2013-04-10 20:07:25

Hi,

NOOB here, and would appreciate any and all help I can get to make sure - from the start - that I handle MIDI guitar signals effectively.

Given that any pick-up based MIDI guitar system has inherent latency issues, I want to make sure that I handle it's MIDI output efficiently in MT by knowing the order as well as any factors you can think of that may play a role.

Does anybody know the order of the various signals that a single note sends (note #, note on, volume CC, pitch bend, note off)? I am assuming it's in that order, but am not sure. Any general thoughts on MIDI guitar and MT are also very much appreciated!

PLEASE REFER TO THE THIRD POST FOR MY UPDATED QUESTION BELOW - THANKS!!!

THANKS SO MUCH IN ADVANCE FOR HELPING ME GET MY FEET WET! - I'm a fast learner once the basics are in place so this is very helpful to someone who hasn't coded since Q-Basic (which I was pretty good at - lol).

famusvictim

2013-04-10 20:09:40

BTW - I apologize for any ignorance from not figuring this out myself, but I have some serious hardware work to do on my guitar before I can get the MIDI pickup installed, so I haven't played with it. thanks. I am a very fast learner but am calling on the MT community for my first lesson.

famusvictim

2013-04-10 21:01:56

SIMPLE CODING QUESTION: If you give the example code for this hypothetical relating to MIDI guitar, it would really start to open up the world of MT to me by explaining a rule, so a response would be extremely appreciated!!!! It will also clear up how pitch bend is handled by MIDI. Many, many thanks in advance!!!: