Is is possible to control appz "out of focus"

ripper

2008-03-04 16:22:25

Hello everybody! I'm new to this wonderful piece of software. So I would like to say big hello to the community. I've downloaded the classic version of Translator and must admit it's much better than I expected. I would like to ask whether there's a way how to ensure that the target application will be responding to translated keystrokes. I understand (and It's logical) that it works as long as the controlled apllication has Windows focus (i.e. is the active window). However, this might change due to some system event (some pop-up window or dialog box). Can the outgoing keystrokes be somehow "tied" to the target application regardless the OS focus status? Thank you so much for this info in advance!
Mike

joesapo

2008-03-04 17:35:58

ripper wrote:Hello everybody! I'm new to this wonderful piece of software. So I would like to say big hello to the community. I've downloaded the classic version of Translator and must admit it's much better than I expected. I would like to ask whether there's a way how to ensure that the target application will be responding to translated keystrokes. I understand (and It's logical) that it works as long as the controlled apllication has Windows focus (i.e. is the active window). However, this might change due to some system event (some pop-up window or dialog box). Can the outgoing keystrokes be somehow "tied" to the target application regardless the OS focus status? Thank you so much for this info in advance!
Mike
Hi ripper, welcome to the forum. :D

I am not aware of any way to manually 're-focus' an application reliably in Windows.

Fortunately, there are ways to prevent an application from losing focus to another window. I use TweakUI, a utility provided for download by Microsoft to prevent other application from overtaking focus from the program I'm targeting with Bomes. Works very well.

Download; http://download.microsoft.com/download/ ... ySetup.exe